30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 18

“I would agree or disagree that high school is/was the time of my life…Because…”

I would disagree completely.

High school was overall a very stupid time of my life.  Sure, I had some good times at high school, but a lot of what sticks out in my mind is bad memories.  I don’t look back fondly and wish I could go back to those days.  Why would I want to go back to a time where I felt alone, unwanted and overall depressed?

Sure, I have my issues to work through now, but I’m a lot happier now.  The people I talk to the most now are people I did know in high school, but they weren’t people I was exceptionally close with at the time (some were, but most I wasn’t with).  A lot of the people I was close with I have lost touch with; in all honesty I rarely think about them.  They make little effort to talk to me, and I make little effort to see them.

High school was a time of awkwardness, it was uncomfortable and full of drama.  If I considered that the “time of my life”, then I really must not be having a good time of my life the rest of the time.  I think right now this is the time of my life, things are pretty good.  Sure, there are lots of things to make me sad, so very, very sad.

But really, the time of my life is now because I’m a much more secure person – I definitely need to deal with things still, but I have a lot more people for support, and I’m a much stronger person.  Anything that is upsetting, or hard to deal with is just easier – I can cope much better.  In high school I couldn’t cope.  Besides, I’m all about planning for my future, if I were to keep looking back at a time and think “gee, those were the days, I wish I could be back there”, then I wouldn’t be moving forward.  And what’s the point of living if you aren’t going anywhere with your life?

Overall, high school sucked, and I would never go back if given the opportunity.  Those four years sucked, they were definitely never the time of my life.

"High School" by Niissa aka milk-and-cream on deviantart.com

The most up to date list available of participants: Nicole, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, Aurathena, Melanie, Marliz3e, TheFerkel, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, LJ, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel, and Tom Baker. NSFW Sites: Everything Love & Lust, TemptingSweets99, Sofia.

10 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 18

  1. Cherlyn, once again I completely agree. High school was awkward and uncomfortable and dramatic. So happy to be where I am today.

  2. It is unfortunate the high school sucked so much for you be I am so happy to be a part of your life now. I’m sure I would have liked to know you while you were in high school because I enjoy our friendship now, but like I said (or something to this effect), here’s to the future. Looking ahead…

    • I dont think you would’ve liked to have known me in High School, I was a very unhappy person. High school was what it was, I’m glad I don’t look back.

Leave a Reply

