30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 14

“Because my parents never found out, I remember getting away with _____________ as a teenager…”

I didn’t get away with much as a teenager, not because I didn’t do anything bad for me, but because I had an honest relationship with my parents – they knew what I was up to.

I suppose the only thing that comes to close to “getting away” with something is having my parents pick my up from “a friend’s house” because I was “sick” when in fact I had gotten too drunk at a house party and needed a ride home.  They knew what was going on though, they’re not stupid, they were teenagers themselves once too.

Honestly, when I was 17, I’d tell my parents I was going over to so-and-so’s house and that I was probably going to drink a bit.  They could’ve forbid me to go, they could’ve yelled at me or scolded me, but it would’ve been hypocritical.  Plus, I think they knew that if they did that eventually I’d lie to them and go do something just as stupid or probably worse.  I think they knew they couldn’t protect me from making bad choices my whole life, so what they did was offer me advice, and the freedom to make reasonable mistakes.  I wasn’t an idiot either though, I never really had any bad luck with my choices when I was in high school, so I don’t think they had much to worry about.

"Trust" by Nuno Figueira aka duendeverde on deviantart.com

 The most up to date list available of participants: Nicole, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, Aurathena, Melanie, Marliz3e, TheFerkel, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, LJ, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel, and Tom Baker. NSFW Sites: Everything Love & Lust, TemptingSweets99, Sofia.

9 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 14

  1. Good to hear about the honest realtionship with your parents, that’s always a huge plus in a teenagers life. My parents never stopped me being a normal teenager, but I have my share of wild things done. I’m sure they probably knew about most of them …

  2. Your parents sound very wise and understanding! They sound great! My friend was telling me her parents were cool like that too, would leave alcohol in the house in easy reach and everything.. I always find it interesting to hear these kinds of stories 🙂

  3. As a teenager..you would never think parents were once young too. They seemed to have been old all their lives. I think sometimes parents get a good laugh, especially when they can see through us..

Leave a Reply

