30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 11

“When I’ve had a really bad day the first thing (not person) I reach for is…”

It really all depends on the degree of how upset I am.  If it’s what I call a terminal day, though I do usually call one of my friends like Ryan, the first thing I think of is like chicken wings or a sundae.  It’s the fat girl side of me – that’s just what I crave.

However, in terms of non-food related things I turn to, if I’m having an awful day and I just want to try to feel better, these are things I try to do to relax and enjoy the rest of my day:

  • Have a bubble bath, while listening to Josh Groban (or lately it’s been Florence and the Machine) and drinking tea.
  • Watch something I love – which may sound stupid but sometimes I need something I love and nostalgic to make me feel better.  Typically I’ll watch one of my Friends DVDs.  I don’t always sit and intently watch either, it’s usually on just to comfort me.  I may play some Sudoku while I watch, or write in my journal.
  • Cuddle my cat and take a nap.
  • Play a video game – it distracts me.
  • Go for a long walk and work off my frustration.

But above all else, what I turn to (besides people) to make me feel better: Coffee.  It’s my ultimate comfort.

The most up to date list available of participants: Nicole, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, Aurathena, Melanie, Marliz3e, TheFerkel, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, LJ, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel, and Tom Baker. NSFW Sites: Everything Love & Lust, TemptingSweets99, Sofia.

23 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 11

  1. I haven’t been upset in a very long time, I mean upset in a way to need something to reach out too, but usually when it happens, the only thing that helps is just be out and walk, no particular direction, just walking to loose the energy of the disturbance!

  2. i like this process you have here. just reading made me feel relaxed 🙂 i troop to the shower and listen to music too. i enjoy groban and and florence and the machine too cherlyn!

  3. Honestly, this whole list would work for me too! You definitely know how to relax 🙂 And now to youtube Josh Groban, Florence, and The Machine..)

  4. I love a good coffee 🙂 Great answer! Everyone in our office does too and when we’re having a rough day we all troop downstairs to the coffee bar for a solidarity cup. I also tend to think it doesn’t affect me until I realise that my right leg is jiggling up and down uncontrollably – sure sign that the caffeine has peaked in my system!

  5. music -JOSH GROBAN ❤ ❤ such a voice… I even imagine making love with a really hot guy while Groban's singing in the background hahah his voice is just so sexy! :))

  6. Coffee always gets me worked up. Coke as well! I avoid coffeine when I’m down ’cause then I’m like the tasmanian devil from the cartoons but with a crappy attitude! The bath idea appeals to me though!

Leave a Reply

