30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 09

“When the cashier gives me this amount of money for change I know it’s too much money to dump in the charity bucket…”

Note before I answer:  I will try my best to read everyone’s blog posts every day, but I cannot guarantee I’ll be able to stop by everyone’s or leave a comment for that matter.  It’s definitely high up on my priority list though – I just have exams next week and I’m trying to work studying/finishing homework around my work schedule too.  I’ll try my best though!

This is a tough question, because I like to be charitable.  However, I’m also in school, working a minimum wage job.  If I frequent my favourite coffee shop, I may leave my change if it’s like 50 cents in their tip jar.  If I’m at school I may leave that 50 cents in the MSA charity fund.  I think anything over 50 cents right now I hang on to.  This may sound awful, but realistically, I don’t have a lot of cash right now.  And sure, I could use that 50 cents I save for my coffee every day towards one of those charity buckets.  I know this, and sure, I feel rotten about it.

Part of why I don’t always leave change in the charity buckets is because I don’t trust many charities.  I see a lot of buckets for united way – when only 10% of the proceeds actually go towards their cause.  I find a lot of those charities to be scams.  I like to donate my money to local charities/organizations like burn victims, firefighters, schools, cancer research, local children’s hospitals etc.  I guess that can make me sound like a cynic, and maybe I am.

I honestly think time can be a more valuable thing for me to donate, and I miss having that extra time to volunteer.  I suppose time is something I could afford, but at the cost of stretching myself much too thin, it has taken a back burner (temporarily).  The only thing I’ve been able to keep up with is donating my blood.  But I know that’s not enough.  There’s never enough.  Maybe that’s just as awful of a thought – knowing I can’t ever give enough of myself without being completely void of everything.  Maybe I need to be a bit selfish sometimes, and I know that’s just an awful, terrible, despicable thought.

I guess the honest truth isn’t always pretty.

"Donation for the Blind" by Randolph Pallones Maribojoc

The most up to date list available of participants: Nicole, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, Aurathena, Melanie, Marliz3e, TheFerkel, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, LJ, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel, and Tom Baker. NSFW Sites: Everything Love & Lust, TemptingSweets99, Sofia.

14 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 09

  1. charity mistrust seemed to be a popular sentiment. I share it too. But I agree, time is the most precious thing you can give.

  2. I like the thought that the most charitable thing you can actually do is not donating money but actually donating a portion of your time to help do charitable things -soup kitchens; visiting old folks’ homes; treating orphans to an afternoon of games and whatnot… wouldn’t that be grander than just slipping in coins in a bucket?

  3. Good luck on your exams! You’re less of a cynic than I am, 50 cents is a super generous tip LOL. I’m sooo stingy by comparison. Donating time is great ❤ I volunteered in New Orleans over my Spring break last year, and worked on building houses in Tennessee this winter break through my university. This way, I've made a tangible difference!

    • I think volunteering feels better too because you can actually see what you’re doing to help. I tip at dinners and such if i go to a restaurant, but only tip at coffee places that I frequent a lot (like the one I go to all the time or the one I work at lol), other than that, I can be a bit stingy too.

      • Oh cool, I guess I would tip my own coffeeshop too 😛 I tip at dinners/lunches simply because I’m supposed to (Dude those asian waitresses in Chinatown will HUNT YOU DOWN) but never at coffeeshops. I keep my change and use them to save up till I can pay for my next coffee haha.

  4. by giving time, that is more generous! i have always thought about volunteering too but the opportunity has not presented itself yet. hey, best of luck on your exams! kill it! 😀

    • I used to volunteer at a long-term care centre, and I loved it. When I’m done school I want to volunteer somewhere similar, or the hospice down the street (though I’ve been saying that for a while, so lets hope I do it).

      Thanks, I’ll try to kill my exams! haha.

  5. From my book in terms of tips, you give A LOT! Where I come from, we don’t have the tipping culture…we tip when we REALLY feel it. And like you said there are many other things to give other than money…What you can give is enough…since it comes from a good place in your heart 🙂

  6. I see nothing wrong with your answer. Time is more valuable than money to many people so to give of yourself to something you know is worthwhile is the smart thing to do.

Leave a Reply

