30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 08

“If I could afford it, the piece of famous artwork you would find in my home is…”

Well this could honestly take all day to write.  There are a lot of famous artwork pieces that really speak to me and that I adore.  There’s also a lot of pieces that aren’t quite so famous but equally expensive that I wish I could have.  I’d love to own an original artwork piece by Van Gogh, or even William Blake.  But in all honesty, if I could actually buy a piece of artwork for my home, it’s bound to be extremely nerdy or geeky.

One artist I really enjoy is HR Giger – and I enjoy his artwork so much because he was the conceptual artist for the aliens in the film Alien.  I just find the pieces really beautiful but really frightening.

I also like the site www.geek-art.net – it’s got a lot of great artwork that is totally something I would buy.  They’re not even expensive, I just don’t have a lot of extra cash at the moment.  Some of the pieces/shows I really enjoy include the Elora Danan Project which is a tribute to the awesome fantasy film Willow.  I’ve also posted a few other posters that I would totally buy, cause they’re awesome.  Each one links to the webpage of either the piece of art itself or the showcase of the project.

Justin Van Genderen - La Diva

Fabio Castro Soto - The Spirit

The most up to date list available of participants: Nicole, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, Aurathena, Melanie, Marliz3e, TheFerkel, Prysmatique, AnonymousBurn, Caroline, Koi, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Princesa Musang, DLonelyStar, LJ, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Primadonna Zel, and Tom Baker. NSFW Sites: Everything Love & Lust, TemptingSweets99, Sofia.

21 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 08

  1. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    quicker then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a honest price?

    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  2. I like La Diva the most from the collection you’ve offered here. I would like for myself “Water Lilies” by Claude Monet or Damien Hirst’s “Requiem, White Roses and Butterflies”

  3. Great choice. I too love his art. If I had some of his artwork I might have to tip-toe past it in the dark. I have a few lithographs from Star Trek artists and it would be great to add Alien artwork into the mix.

  4. Ooh wow, this is so lovely and out of the box for me. Everybody says Van Gogh, Picasso, and Warhol. You introduced me to something new! I see myself appreciating the art as an aesthetic, but I think I’m far too girly to put an HR Giger on my wall. I need fairy dust and dragons on everything lol.

    • Haha yeah he’s definitely an acquired taste. I’m a bit odd, I’ve always found artwork leaning towards macbre really interesting and beautiful – maybe I’m fascinated by fear. Who knows!

      I do love all the classic artists, but I know if I were to actually buy something for my walls, it’d probably be something nerdy or from a movie 😛 I already have a huge collection of posters haha.

Leave a Reply

