30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 01

“The one thing that it seems like everyone else on the planet is into but I just cannot stand is…”

Oh, there are so many things I can’t stand, it’s hard to pick just one.  One thing that’s been a fad for a few years now that I will never understand is UGG boots.

For those of you who live under a rock, this image illustrates what I see a majority of girls wearing – especially in the winter.

I really hate these boots.  I hate them so much it hurts me a little bit.  Why do I hate them?  Well, for starters, they look like the linings for real boots.  And being in Ontario, when we get a real winter (which we did not this year), it’s cold and it’s wet.  These boots may be comfortable but they don’t keep your feet dry. 

Then those people who love these boots start getting on my case because apparently they are “fashionable”.  No, no they are not – and anyone who tries to say otherwise is wrong.  I’m not sorry to say that either.  Because typically I see girls who wear these every day, will be wearing track pants and a slutty tank top with a sweater.  Their hair will be on top of their head in a messy bun with no effort at all, yet they will cake their faces in an inch of make-up.  That is not fashionable.  It’s trendy, sure, but fashionable?  No.

Maybe it’s what these boots represent to me that makes me so angry – the represent laziness but somehow also represents popularity.  I don’t like laziness and popularity mixing, I think people should be rewarded for hard work, and part of hard work is being professional.  You can’t wear uggs to a job interview, you’ll most likely not get the job.

I have friends who wear uggs, and please don’t be offended – besides, you  know how vocal I am so really, you’ve probably heard this rant before.

Wow, first day of 30 Days of Blogging Honesty and I’m already ranting?  I guess you’ll have to show up tomorrow to see what else I’ll rant about.

28 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty (+1 Dare) – Day 01

  1. I wear my uggs every day. I can’t bring myself to disagree. they are ugly and their “fashionable” status is stupid. But oh, the comfort.

  2. There are everywhere here too, no matter if it’s sunny or it’s raining … There was a shop you could get a pair for 5 euro, my cousin got 5 pairs, different colors, I said I won’t wear them even if someone gave them as a present, not on the street at least, at home for slippers … maybe 🙂 I’m with you here!

  3. The only problem I really have with Uggs is the price tag. I know that $150+ isn’t very much compared to other designer shoes, but that’s just it. At least other shoes look like they’re ACTUALLY worth that much!

    As for the fashion aspect of it I think they’re kind of cute they just aren’t very easy to style because they don’t really go with much. Not that I’d want to wear them that often. Here in Arizona we only get around 2-3 months of weather below the 70-60s. They’d probably make my feet stink. :/

    • Well, to each their own, obviously a lot of people enjoy how they feel and how they look so it’s obvious I’m in a minority. I think the practical side of me just really can’t stand them haha.

    • Lol they’re not winter boots though, that’s what’s annoying about them – they’re basically slippers that people stupidly wear for boots haha.

      Maybe I should move the Philippines so I dont have to see them.

  4. You never cease to bring a smile to my face Cherlyn. When I first heard of the boots I thought they were called Uggs because the were Uggly? What do I know? I don’t mind you ranting. Looking forward to tomorrow!

  5. Never understood Uggs either! I have never owned them, and I never will. They’re so impractical for living in the city and they’re so overpriced for what they originated from – bathroom slippers, I think? Or is that just rumor. Either way, I feel you!

    • That may be true, I knew they were slippers from Australia, bathroom slippers may be right :). I’m so happy I’m not alone in my dislike for these boots!

  6. Haha, this is true, especially the bit about the tank top and track pants. I am guilty of wearing ugg boots every now and then. But only for lazy days around the house or for a movie night at one of the girls houses. But I’ve got a ‘fashionable’ pair of boots now, and they are much better – still comfy and warm too.

    • Haha its all good, like I said I have a lot of friends who wear them, I’ve just never understood the appeal. They are comfy I will admit, but I guess I’m more annoyed that people wear them allll the time. Maybe I should start wearing my fluffy dog slippers everywhere, start a new trend lol.

Leave a Reply

