Poetry Thursday #72

It feels like forever since I’ve posted a new poem on my blog.  Although forever is a relative term, because for me it feels like one long-ass day that just won’t seem to end.  But there is light at the end of my tunnel, soon it shall be a new year, and there are lots of things to look forward to.  I for one am extremely excited about 2012 – and even if the world will “end” that year, at least I can hope it’ll be a good one. 

I wasn’t going to post anything yet again, as I’ve had little time or inspiration to write anything lately.  But inspiration found me today, and I felt like I needed to let it out.  So I hope you enjoy this poem, and I hope everyone out there is doing well!  I apologize for my extreme delay once again in reading my fellow bloggers posts, I hope to find the time to catch up soon. 

You’ve Taken My Voice
Silence me, stifle me, suffocate me.
Police me with your policies,
sling your meaningless jargon at me,
strike me down with your false mandates.
Punish my passionate side –
erasing my vibrant reds and purples,
exchange them for black, khakis and blues.
Treat my protests as mere aggression,
sweep my personality under the rug
like your forgotten heart and soul.
Choke my essence out of me
with your greed tainted fingers,
stare me down with your soulless eyes.
Suck out my being with every
negative breath you take;
beat me until I’m broken –
steal me until I’m silenced
just like you.

“-silenced-” by Katie Lilith aka fleur-amaranth on deviantart.com

 
Though my heart is hurting, 
and my body aches in sorrow,
this honour gives me strength
and hope for a brighter tomorrow.
 
Thank you to whomever nominated me, it’s the sweet things like this that make everything feel better.
I nominate: Kellie Elmore from Magic in the Backyard with the poem On the Dock Where Summer Lied
59 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #72

  1. Pingback: Poetry Thursday #73 « Over a Cup of Coffee

  2. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have won the perfect poet award for week 58,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rallyby Friday if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

    • Wow, thank you so much 🙂

      I’ll definitely try to come by Friday, lets hope time and tiredness does not hold me back 🙂

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well!

      Hugs!

  3. Powerful reminder that we have to be on the lookout for censors even in those whom we think are there to support us… and in ourselves as well. Thank you for sharing!

  4. This is an amazing poem. So full of power and strength. I love how it contradicts itself – that it is called You’ve taken my voice – but when I read it, it became clear that you will never let some take you voice – that you will defy begin silenced. This is one of my most favorite poems you have ever written.

  5. Wow, it’s almost like you were in my house back when and wrote this about what you saw there! Very well done!! I loved it and the intensity of emtions conveyed. Blessings, Terri

  6. Full of intensity and urgency. I like this because I think it could be interpreted as the protests of an individual regarding another individual, or a group railing against a system. Makes me think of the OWS protests. Nice.

  7. Beautiful. Reminds me of a few years ago, when I was afraid to come out. It’s funny, you know, how sometimes it’s our very selves that kill who we are in some way. Anyway, I felt a connection with your poem. Well done. 🙂

  8. Tones of energy in this one. To me it sounded like you dare the system and the world we live in to take actions … maybe… But around here it seems that the crisis and the situation have taken the voices out of everybody! And we’re all silenced by the gigantic political machine … Of course I might be wrong 🙂 Only the poet really knows what it means! Either way, I felt the anger and the desperation, it was powerful writing!

    • It can mean a lot of things, and the train of thought you were on isnt incorrect – I definitely think we need to change the system we live in for sure 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it Blaga :)!

  9. Wow! I read it in my angry voice and it was a very powerful poem. What pray tell Cherlyn was the catalyst for this poem. If I had to guess I would say a run in with either the ‘rents or the boss.

    Hope all is well with you and yours. And don’t you have some splainin’ to do? You can email me if you don’t know what I mean (smile).

    • You wouldn’t be far off, but that’s a story for an email methinks. I’m glad you enjoyed this though!

      And I’m so out of it, I’m not quite sure what you mean lol. I’ll email you to check lol.

Leave a Reply

