All Time Favourite

Blaga from Broken Sparkles created this challenge.   The challenge can be found here, and I’ll do my best to follow the guidelines!

Everything in Life

The beginning marks the end
of a previous beginning –
a cycle of changes, chaos,
of contemplation, and conclusions.
From Spring’s fluttering finches,
to Summer’s smoldering sun,
Autumn’s robust reds, and
Winter’s sparkling snowflakes –
find comfort in the cycle,
for there is no happiness without sadness,
there is no love without apathy,
and there is no beginning without an end.
Welcome the constant movement,
the ever persistent ups and downs
that encompass the entirety of Life.

Life – sometimes it’s hard to find something to love about it.  And like being in love, sometimes you need to work a little bit harder to make it work.  All the seasons combined are like the cycles of my life.  I often find myself in a phase where there is a new discovery to be made, I’m discovering something new about myself and changing as the world around me changes.  As I start to accept this newer version of myself, I get caught up in the chaos that is life – whether I thrive in the chaos or fall because of it all depends on who I changed into.  As the chaos dies down for the time being, I reflect on what has happened, why it has happened, and what I can do to change what I didn’t like.  And as I let go of the things that haunt me, the troubles I have encountered through a difficult chapter in my life, I push forward, find the strength to move on, and start to find hope again – the beginnings of another chapter, a new change in myself.   

Favourite Word
Persevere
–verb (used without object)
1. to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a purpose in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.
2. to persist in speech, interrogation, argument, etc.; insist.
–verb (used with object)
3. to bolster, sustain, or uphold: unflagging faith that had persevered him.

I have a lot of favourite words, but this is probably one of my all time favourites because I feel like it describes me well, or at least describes something that I’d like to become.  Everyone has tough times, some worse than others, and I always try to keep moving forward during my rough patches.  There’s nothing quite like the feeling of battling through the storm and finding clear skies, it’s uplifting and hopeful.

Favourite Quote
“The quiet ones are the ones that change the universe… The loud ones only take the credit.” ~ Londo Mollari, Babylon 5: In the Beginning

I love this quote, and of course I love this mini-movie.  I find it speaks to me on a personal level.  Though of course I am a loud person, I find that when it comes to having the spotlight, or taking the credit for something, I’d much rather step back and let someone else have the glory.  Maybe I don’t feel like I deserve it, or maybe I just really enjoy watching other people be happy and get praised, I’m not really sure.

Favourite Poem
The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost
Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
 
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
 
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
 
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
 
Favourite Song
No Children – The Mountain Goats

Favourite Movie
The Usual Suspects/The Color Purple
I can’t pick between the two of them, it really depends on my mood.  The Usual Suspects to me is one of those gems of a film, that really only comes around once in every 10 years.  I didn’t want to watch it, and my brother happened to put it on, and I couldn’t pry myself away.  It was intriguing, and one of the few films where the ending surprised the hell out of me.  I just loved the experience I had with this film.  As for the Color Purple, it to me is one of the few movies where I think it achieved more than the book did, and I really enjoy it more than I do the book.  It’s touching, its unbelievably sad, and it’s exceptionally well made.  Not to mention it is an extremely gorgeous film to watch.  I watch this movie when I know I need a good cry, because it absolutely always makes me cry at least once.

Favourite Book
Dune – By Frank Herbert
I really have a three-way tie between my favourites, but since I used the other two in two of my other posts (The Book of Negroes, as well as The Shining), I thought I’d talk about the other book I love.  I’m a nerd, and Dune is like the bible for sci-fi nerds.  It’s really well written, and it’s got a really strange, thought-provoking concept.  I won’t deny though, it’s definitely not for everyone.  I just can’t help but love this book, something about it calls to me.

Favourite Town
I don’t have a favourite town that I’ve actually been to.  I love them all in their own way, and have a really hard time picking one.  If I had to pick a town that I really, really want to visit, I’d pick Athens.  Though I don’t do well in the heat, I think I’d suffer through just to see this gorgeous city with my own eyes. 

Favourite Animal
Colossal Squid – What can I say, I like the strange and unusual.  And these amazing creatures are just so fascinating and awesome.

Favourite Food
This shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, but coffee!

Favourite Image
Saber by far is my favourite photographer, she’s so unbelievably talented, so yet again, my favourite all time image is one of hers.

"Thinking" by Saber Hodson aka midnightreflections from Deviantart, as well as from Last Shadow Photography

12 thoughts on “All Time Favourite

  1. hahaha, I totally thought the work was perverse as well, hahaha. A lovely list. Clearly, my favorite thing was your food choice, hahaha…I too classify coffee as food.
    AND Excellent movie choice…I feel like that is one of those movies I kept saying I didn’t want to watch, and then you got me to watch it and I loved it. Such a clever ending, and now I get all the spoofs of it I see on TV, haha.

  2. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

  3. Cherlyn — I enjoyed reading all the components of your post … I often have considered phases of my life comparable to the seasons … and in many ways, perhaps that is why God created seasons? Hmmm … persevere is also a favorite of mine … my favorite quote and motto of the past few years …”With perseverance, even the snail made it to the Ark!”

    Thank you for sharing and thank you for your recent visit.

      • I’m glad you enjoyed my posts! I’m also glad I’m not the only one who looks at the seasons as a representation of how life flows, at least i”m not crazy. And yay, a fellow coffee lover! 🙂

        Thanks for your lovely comment, and for stopping by!

  4. What an interesting collection you have here ! I love the analogy between the changing seasons and cycles of your life … and your candid reflections upon it …
    Great choice of word as well ! Never give up … “keep on keeping on” !
    I’m also very fond of Frost’s poetry … and I drink way too much coffee … 😉
    I enjoyed your post Cherlyn !

    • Sorry for the late reply, I’ve been forgetful lately and busy, but I do apologize.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this, and I love the “keep on keeping on” – I’ll definitely have to remember that. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Great list Cherlyn!
    I must say I read the favorite word twice too :). I hope you do visit Athens and explore the town, it’s worth seeing part of Ancient Greece standing in it’s glory when the modern part of the town is ruined by all the riots.

    Dune is great book, I think I might re-read it one of these days, I haven’t in a while …

    Thanks for everything Cherlyn!

    • So sorry for the late reply! I must have checked it in the morning, so stupid!

      Whenever I get a chance to see Athens, if you’re still there, I’ll definitely take you out for coffee!

      Thanks of the challenge again!

  6. The first time I read this I thought your favourite word was “perverse” instead of “persevere” so I was really confused. On a second reading I realised what an idiot I was haha.

    I love your quote – very funny and true.

    I still have to see the usual suspects – it is going on my list!

    I had no idea you like extremely large squid so much – you have so many layers! like a parfait.

    • Haha I was wondering if someone would misread that! haha, nice, I’m glad it was you 🙂 heck, when I was double checking it I did a double take lol

      Remember when Andrew and I got in a fight way back when in second year and I was all mopey and laying around all day? I watched a thing about colossal squid that day, and they were so fascinating. Lol I do have so many layers, like parfaits (and onions too!)

Leave a Reply

