Winter’s Favourite

This challenge was started by Blaga from Broken Sparkles.  The challenge can be found here, and I’ll do my best to follow the guidelines!

Winter

A quiet, settled landscape,
a cool, calm, brisk night
under the shining stars,
sparkling, shimmering in the snow.
A beautiful painting of sensuality,
beauty so great where only
the strong dare venture to see it.
Appreciated only by those with hope,
loved only by those with thanks –
the ugly duckling and hidden swan
that is the season of Winter.

Obviously the first thing I think of when I think of Winter is the cold.  Living in Canada, I feel my share of extreme weather (extreme in the sense that in the summer it’s sitting in your underwear, sweating your arse off hot, and in the winter it’s three feet of snow, freezing your toes off cold).  So of course for me, cold also equals snow.  Now, I’m not one to bash on snow all the time, sure, sometimes it’s an inconvenience, but it’s also kind of romantic.  Snow is kind of like little flakes of sparkles, and nothing looks more beautiful than snow in the moonlight.  When it comes time for the season to change to Winter, my mind thinks of wholesomeness, family, romance, and appreciation.  I suppose I appreciate the fact that I am strong enough to get through the cold days, and that I’m not the only one going through it alone.  I appreciate the fact that I’m alive, that I’m here, that I have an opportunity for a new start.  Winter makes me feel for my family more, I’m more grateful (though I should be all year round).  It helps me to remember what I should be thankful for, and who I should be thankful to.  And as I already said, to me, winter is romantic – there’s nothing more sensual to me than kissing with a light snow falling to the ground, and holding each other  for warmth.

Overall to me, winter is a struggle.  Throughout the year I’m bombarded with waves of strong emotions, and it’s so easy to fall into a sadness in winter.  To me, it’s weak – I am a fighter, and though Winter is a struggle, I carry on with my head held high and a smile on my face.

Favourite Word of Winter
Appreciation
–noun
1. gratitude; thankful recognition: They showed their appreciation by giving him a gold watch.
2. the act of estimating the qualities of things and giving them their proper value.
3. clear perception or recognition, especially of aesthetic quality: a course in art appreciation.

As I already said, Winter makes me feel appreciative of everything I have.  I find a lot of people really miserable in the winter, and I try my hardest to fight the norm.  I’m thankful for what I have, and because it is the “season of giving”, I try to be a bit more generous as well.  I try to be generous all year round, but I think Winter reminds me that I’m luck for what I have, and that I should be more considerate of what others don’t, and help my community.

Favourite Quote of Winter
“Blow, blow, thou winter wind
Thou art not so unkind,
As man’s ingratitude.” ~ William Shakespeare
 
Favourite Poem of Winter
Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost
Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.
 
My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.
 
He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.
 
The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.
 
Favourite Song of Winter
February Song – Josh Groban

Favourite Movie of Winter
Love Actually
I tend to be one of those people who bashes romantic films, mostly because I’ve never really had any big romance in my life ever.  However, if I had to pick a favourite, it would be Love Actually.  What I love about this film is that it’s about love but not just romantic love.  It takes those feelings I have about winter – the romanticism of it, the appreciation for your loved ones – and it puts it into an enjoyable, happy film.  If you’ve never seen it, give it a watch, you may enjoy it!

Favourite Book of Winter
The Shining – By Stephen King
This really doesn’t have much to do with any of what I said about Winter, I just really love this book.  I suppose since it’s set during the winter, it makes me think of it.  I guess I could say that the film is about staying strong and enduring, but really, I just love this book.

Favourite Town of Winter
Ottawa, Ontario for sure.  I’ve been there in the winter, and though it’s even colder there than it ever gets where I live, it’s absolutely gorgeous in the winter.  It’s a great city to visit, and if you can stand the cold, check it out in the winter.  The city I think of when I think of Winter, is Paris.  Paris is that one place most people will associate with romance, and to me I think Paris would look absolutely stunning in the winter.

Favourite Animal of Winter
Polar Bearswhich are slowly becoming less and less winter-associable.  Damn you global warming.

Favourite Food of Winter
Chili.  I love a hot bowl of chili on a cold day, with some toast and fixings for the top.  I love it!   I don’t have a recipe to share however, because whenever I make chili, I kind of improvise and change it up every time.  I will recommend you try it with some toppings next time, I always have at least two of these for when I make chili: shredded cheese, sour cream, avocado, or diced tomatoes.  So yummy!  

Favourite Image of Winter
More shameless promotion of my talented friend, Saber‘s, photography!

"Frosted" by Saber Hodson aka midnightreflections

13 thoughts on “Winter’s Favourite

  1. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

  2. I was playing Josh’s song as I read this haha, it was very fitting! I love the choice of the shining, such an amazing book, for some reason I always forget it is set during winter. I agree with you on how winter can be very romantic. I especially feel that way after a fresh snow fall, or snow storm, when everything is blanketed in snow and hasn’t been turned grey by cars, or plowed, it is absolutely stunning and beautiful!!

  3. What an excellent winter collection! You listed some of my favs, too – King and Frost, for sure. I enjoyed YOUR poem, too! Love that line about the ugly duckling – such truth. I don’t know if I could live in such a cold place as Canada, but I’d like to get there to visit someday. Closest I’ve been is WA State. 🙂 I’ll have to watch that movie – I’m not much on romance films, either, but it sounds like a winner. Thanks for sharing your favorites with us!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed my faves – I had a hard time picking for some reason, I didn’t want to get all christmasy or anything. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. This is a very interesting selection of winter items ! You’ve posted a lovely reflection on winter … it’s really something to think about …
    I love, love, love the quote … well I love Shakespeare’s works in general .
    I love Frost’s poetry … and I can identify with any food that contains chilli …
    I agree that Paris is a must … anytime of the year for me …

    My contribution : http://writer-in-transit.co.za/seasons-favorite-blogging-challenge-winter/

    • Shakespeare is indeed a literary God, I love his work as well – same goes with Frost, just amazing.

      Thanks for stopping by, and I’ll check out your post 🙂

  5. Finding a romanticism in winter is a bravery Cherlyn, at least to me and I admire you for ideas. Lovely choice of favorites. “Love actually” is a favorite of mine too. I love the scene with Hugh Grant dancing, I could watch it over and over again and still laugh as crazy as it was the first time.

    Robert Frost is indeed a master, glad to see him included here. And no need to express my adoration about Saber’s photography! She indeed is a very talented!

    Thanks for being part again of the challenge!

    • I guess I like to look at what everyone else sees and try to see something else, I’m weird haha. I love that scene from Love Actually as well, such a cute movie!

      Thanks again for creating the challenge 🙂

  6. Great choices of the season…Stephen King – one of my fav writers, and Robert Frost – one of my fav poets 🙂
    The image is really nice as well…and last but not the least – your poem is a beautifully expressed imagery of winter. Great write.

    • I’m very happy you enjoyed it 🙂 Stephen King is one of my favourite writers too – it was either a choice between The Shining or Misery.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Ooooh. The Shining! Definitely winter.
    I spend some time in Palm Desert when it’s cold here in Reno and so does half of Canada, I believe. Have made some wonderful Canadian friends! Good folk.

    • I dont think I’d travel much in the winter, I kind of like the cold (I am built for it after all). Maybe one day I’ll visit Reno though, seems like a fun place to see 🙂

Leave a Reply

