Poetry Oldies #2

I’ve written a few poems this week, but I’m not pleased with them this week.  And since it’s the start of my mini-vacay (where I get the weekend to myself this weekend, woot-woot!) I thought it’d be a good time to post some older poems and take a mini-break from Poetry Thursday (don’t worry, I’ll be back next week though!).  So here are some older poems people may have missed that I wanted to share again.  Enjoy!

I Am Originally Posted March 25, 2010
I am here but am not there.
I am here but I don’t know where.
I see myself but I am blind –
who I am I cannot find. 

I walk alone down the street,
passing through those I meet.
I am silent as I speak –
I seem strong though I’m weak. 

One step forward, one step back,
wasting time.  I have lost track –
I have not wound my internal clock;
I lost the ticks and lost the tocks. 

I have shut down, lost all power.
I am lost in this endless hour.
What I am I do not know,
I was lost some time ago. 

I shall live just like the rest –
apathetic and unimpressed.
For I am here but am not there.
I am here but I don’t know where 

“Lost” by Lars Raun aka raun on deviantart.com

I’m Still Waiting – Originally Posted April 8, 2010
You promised me
we’d be together forever.
Backstabbing, lying,
cheating – never! 

You promised me
you’d love me like no other
(all the while you
were seeing another). 

You vowed to never
break my heart,
that you couldn’t
stand to be apart. 

You swore that if
I said goodbye –
life was not worth living,
that you’d die. 

I said farewell,
alone I went ahead.
Years have passed –
and you’re still not dead. 

I’m still waiting.
Promises are promises. 

“Broken Promises” by Christina aka Tangerine-Tickle on deviantart.com

*Note: It seems Tangerine-Tickle’s gallery isn’t posted anymore, their account is still there but not the images themselves.  It is possible that she may have created a new account, but I’m not really sure.

Lost in memories,
poetry filled words
with every moment.

Thank you so much for the award!  This means a lot to me, so I’m very thrilled!  I have nominated Miss Kitten from Misanthrope for an award 🙂

29 thoughts on “Poetry Oldies #2

  1. I remember these poems!!! I especially love the second one, I love the intensity and passion in it…I read it with a very fiercely, I think I picked up on the emotions of the text.

    • I think it’s kind of neat from your perspective too cause you know more about what happened between me and the guy I wrote this about. A different perspective so to say. I’m glad you enjoyed them (again).

  2. Just wanted to comment that my favourite line in the poem is in the second stanza…..’passing through those I meet.’
    These words conjure many stages of feeling.
    -William Leed-

    • Thank you :). Sometimes my life feels like I’m just passing through, never leaving an impact or imparting any meaning on people around me.

      Thanks for the visit!

    • I think if I had to pick a favourite it would be the first one as well. Though the second one was written with a more personal thought in mind, the first one seems to envoke more emotion in my now that I’ve moved passed that issue. Interesting how that works out! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I love the flow and rhythm of both I loved the second stanza of the first poem especially but both were fantastic. The first is true of society, the second so filled with hurt. I also really love that first picture. Excellent!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I was a bit worried about putting such older poems on my first Poets Rally, but I guess I had nothing to worry about 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    • I think you commented on one of the posts, probably that one, they’re both quite old, over a year since I’ve posted them 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed them!

  4. I love the “I AM” one. I think I have used this same line in a poem, “One step forward, one step back” a common feeling. You really capture that lonely feeling of confusion which is ironically what bonds us all together. Bravo!

    • Thank you very much! Life does sometimes feel like I’m moving forward but never moving at all, I guess we can take comfort knowing we’re never really alone even when we feel like we are 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 48 (July 14-20) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

Leave a Reply

