Spring’s Favourite

Blaga from Broken Sparkles has started a challenge and has asked me to participate!  And because it sounds like a fun little challenge, and because she’s so wonderful, I’ve decided to participate as well!  The challenge can be found here, and I’ll do my best to follow the guidelines!

Spring

A mending of beauty and ugliness,
a marriage of light and dark –
an equilibrium of opposites,
dancing to the tune of change.
Fear and hope, knowing and not,
becoming something more, thawing
the frost from hopeless winter.
The most contrary of seasons,
finding peace in its own chaos,
bringing the unexpected to the peace:
the ever unpredictable Spring.

Spring for me is always such a complicated season.  I adore Spring – and though it is not my favourite season, I definitely feel it has the most accurate representation of who I am and often what I am feeling.  There are days where it is perfect – warm, sunny, birds chirping, flowers blooming, and then other days where there is no sun in sight, all rain, murkiness.  It is a season of transition, of changes, of becoming. 

Favourite Word of Spring
Becoming
–adjective 1. that suits or gives a pleasing effect or attractive appearance, as to a person or thing: a becoming dress; a becoming hairdo.
2. suitable; appropriate; proper: a becoming sentiment.
–noun 3. any process of change.
4. Aristotelianism . any change involving realization of potentialities, as a movement from the lower level of potentiality to the higher level of actuality.

I suppose this is my favourite word for this season because to me Spring is all about becoming something else, its about changing.  Often for me, Spring is the time of year for me where I’m trying to get out of a bit of a funk – something happens early in the year where I feel not the happiest, and Spring for me often involves me doing some reflection, and trying to become something other than what I am to make myself feel better.

Favourite Quote of Spring
“It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!” ~Mark Twain
 
Favourite Poem of Spring
Spring Pools by Robert Frost
These pools that, though in forests, still reflect
The total sky almost without defect,
And like the flowers beside them, chill and shiver,
Will like the flowers beside them, soon be gone,
And yet not out by any brook or river,
But up by roots to bring dark foliage on.

The trees that have it in their pent-up buds
To darken nature and be summer woods—
Let them think twice before they use their powers
To blot out and drink up and sweep away
These flowery waters and these watery flowers
From snow that melted only yesterday.

Favourite Song of Spring
Changes – David Bowie

Favourite Movie of Spring
Groundhog Day
I know this movie is technically set in Winter (because you know, Groundhog Day is in February).  However, this movie is really insightful as well really silly, it’s really serious and really funny.  It has a balance that most movies don’t ever attempt, or even do well when they do.  Spring to me is a lot of finding the light and the dark in something, and accepting it, and finding an equilibrium between the two.  This film also deals a lot about changing yourself, and discovering yourself.  I can’t think of a better movie to represent Spring on such an insightful level.

Favourite Book of Spring
The Book of Negroes – By Lawrence Hill

I think part of why I associate this book with spring is because I read it during my second semester of grade 12 English, so during the spring season.  But what I love about this book (besides the fact that it is absolutely amazing, and it’s written by a local author who also happens to be a very kind person), is that this book is about becoming something new.  Part of what I love about this season is that though spring is beautiful, it kind of goes through a very ugly process to become fresh and gorgeous.  There is rain, the mud, the bare trees at the beginning of its transition.  To me, this book represents the truths to becoming something new – you have to go through something unpleasant, something heinous even, to become something better, something more worthwhile.  It’s always a struggle to change, and that’s what this book is about to me.

Favourite Town of Spring
I haven’t travelled much, so I’m going to answer with a place I’ve been to, and a place I’d like to visit.  As for a place I’ve been to, I’d have to say Burlington, Ontario – my hometown.  Yes, there isn’t much to do here, but it can be really gorgeous here when it hits the middle of Spring, with all the blossoms on the trees, and the temperature just getting warm enough to enjoy it, but not too hot you want to turn the air conditioning on.  Plus, I’ve done a lot of changing here, and though I hold some resentment of this town, I also really love it – so on an emotional level, Burlington really represents Spring to me.  I think for a place I’d like to go, it’d be New York City.  From what i know of New York, there’s a lot that represents the light and the dark, the beautiful and the ugly of spring.  It represents the excitement, the movement, that Spring always seems to bring with it as well.

Favourite Animal of Spring
Finches – they are just adorable and I like them.

Favourite Food of Spring
Quinoa Salad.  This salad is fresh, it’s refreshing, it’s vibrant in colour – it’s also really healthy.  I find that people are always more worried about their weight or health right when winter ends (probably because we all stuff our faces over the holidays), and this salad to me represents that health-kick we all seem to get in.  Also, this recipe is completely vegan, so hurray!

  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 1/2 cups raw whole grain quinoa
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup lightly steamed or blanched broccoli florets
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • dash salt and pepper, to taste

Rinse Quinoa (I never do, but sometimes you need to get the gross tasting residue off), and add it into a pot with the vegetable broth.  Bring it to a boil, then lower the temperature to a simmer.  Give it a stir, and put the lid on.  Check occasionally to stir it.  You’ll know it’s done when the liquid has been absorbed by the quinoa and it’s all light and fluffy. 

While quinoa is cooking, whisk together lemon juice, olive oil, garlic cloves and salt and pepper.  I always add more garlic to my dressing, because I love garlic – it fights off the pesky sparkly vampires. 

I recommend blanching your broccoli, it helps preserve the colour and it still allows them to keep a bit of a bite to them, so they don’t get soggy.  Whichever is easier for you.

When quinoa is finished cooking, allow to cool slightly then, toss with vegetables and lemon juice mix, stirring to combine well. Add more salt and pepper to taste, and chill before serving. 

Favourite Image of Spring
I’m not sure if this was in the rules or not, but I love Saber‘s photography, and this is definitely a photo that makes me think of Spring.

"Bee" by Saber Hodson

17 thoughts on “Spring’s Favourite

  1. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

  2. I really like this post and how everything was devoted to the month of spring. I always feel like I associate certain things with the time of year too so when i was reading this I kept trying to think of how I would answer the question too! I loved the answers too, I really want to try that salad *i can’t remember if I have or not* and I keep forgetting how much I want to read the book of Negros…and Saber I love the picture!!!

    • yup you’ve tried that salad, but I’ll definitely make it for you again to refresh your memory! You should definitely read that book too, anytime you wanna borrow it let me know

  3. Cheryl, am here for Blaga’s challenge.

    This is lovely. Perfect choices and altogether enjoyable. Thanks for sharing all, and I just love your poem. Perfect. I had some finches once. They were sweet things. And, like our Blaga, value added here with a recipe. We use quinoa a lot.

    Thanks for your visits to my site and taking time to comment. I’ve been tied up with personal stuff and just barely caring for the blogs and hardly visiting, but I will catch up, especially with my funny girl here.

    Back soon. Hugs!

    • No worries, I’ve been busy too – it seems to come in waves of chaos, and then a short, peaceful wave of calm. Personal life comes first 🙂

      I’m glad you enjoyed this post, I was a bit worried about it, but it seems it went over well. I love quinoa, it’s delicious, and it’s super healthy, so it’s definitely one of my favourite foods.

      Hugs!

  4. You have some fantastic ideas and images here! That salad sounds delicious, I will have to try and make it. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe and for the reminders – I love Twain, too and yes, Robert Frost is also a favorite. I love seeing all the things that people have come up with for this challenge!

    • That salad is great, definitely try it if you can. It’s really easy to make too, plus it’s super healthy!

      I havent had a chance to see many other’s posts yet, but it’s on my to-do list today! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I will have to try that salad, it sounds fantastic. I love a good salad! It was fun to read about all the things that you think of when you think about spring. It’s so interesting to see what other people associate with a season.

    • I definitely know you’ll like that salad. And I agree, I find it really interesting to see how people associate a feeling or an emotion or thought with a particular season – it’s all subjective, so it’s never wrong.

  6. Well, I was absolutely sure I would enjoy your posts if you participate in the challenge and here I’ve been proved right! You always amaze me with your view on things of life. There is a logic in your explanation about what Spring represents, I hope every Spring time you will find another good side of yourself.

    I liked the quote and the poem very much! Frost is one my favorite poets, I like everything from him! And Saber’s image … I have it with one of my posts, a story about love, the blossoms of Spring seem to be perfect to connect to new love!

    Cherlyn, thank you very much for linking with the challenge! It was indeed a great post! Love& hugs!

    • I’m very glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for having a challenged that is so insightful.

      Frost is definitely one of my favourite poets too, I had to use him.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

