31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 29

#29. I just created a mixed CD for someone who had been deaf all their life.  The 15 artists and songs I chose are…

I enjoyed this question a lot, it was definitely one of the most creative ones of the bunch!  But you know me and music, I’m not too knowledgeable in the subject.  However, I picked 15 songs that I thought would give a give a nice overall introduction to music.  Here they are in no particular order! 

  1. Symphony No.9 in D Minor: Choral, Op. 125 – Beethoven
  2. Requiem Mass in D Minor – Mozart
  3. Across the Universe – The Beatles
  4. Changes – David Bowie
  5. Hurt – Johnny Cash (I know this is a cover, but I love Johnny Cash, and to be honest, this is still my favourite song of his.  This is far superior to the original)
  6. That’s Life – Frank Sinatra
  7. Smooth Criminal – Michael Jackson (By the way, this is probably the best music video ever.  Seriously, go watch it)
  8. Respect – Aretha Franklin
  9. Enter Sandman  – Metallica
  10. Supercalifragilisticexpialodicious – Mary Poppins
  11. Johnny B. Goode – Chuck Berry
  12. Can’t Help Falling In Love With You – Elvis Presley
  13. Try (Just a Little Bit Harder) – Janis Joplin
  14. Paranoid – Black Sabbath
  15. Bad Romance – Lady Gaga

Bonus Tracks Include: The Flesh Failures (Let the Sunshine In) – Hair, and Ballroom Blitz – Sweet.

I realize this is up a bit later today than it was supposed to go up.  I had put a video up to go with how I imagine someone who’s never heard music before would react to some of my song choices – and as a joke I put up a link to a clip from Star Trek: Generations when Data discovers the feeling of “hate”.  But, this morning I found that Tom from Morning Erection had used the same clip!  Well, being the type of girl who won’t order the same food at a restaurant as the person she’s with, I decided to wait until I found another video.

Alas, I did, and I think it works very well!  It actually has the first song on my cd list.  The clip is from Equilibrium, a film about a futuristic society of people who take drugs to impair emotions, because they believe emotions is what causes war and death and such.  Christian Bale plays a cleric, an enforcer who detains and sentences those who are “sense-offenders”, and he misses a dose of his drug, and begins to feel.  This is a scene showing the first time he really hears music.  It’s awesome!  Definitely check it out!

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 29

  1. Excellent choices, especially the last song, haha. I will have to watch the video later, as my computer won’t let it load; I have heard great things about the movie, I really want to see it.

  2. That was a very good list you created Cherlyn, I love the classical songs, Beatles, Elvis, M.Jackson … I like them all actually :)I haven’t seen that movie, I have to check it out! Thanks for sharing!

  3. There is just something about good classical music. Thank you Bugs Bunny! This is one of my favorite Bale movies. It was in my Netflix queue just because I wanted some sci-fi movies. It turned out to be one of the only ones I really liked from the bunch I got.

    We seem to say it often but now I’m really starting to believe it. Great minds (you and I) surely do think a lot alike. I did not mean to ruin your clip and make you hunt for another one. Your song choices would make for some fun and tears for your new ‘hear-er”. Someone left a comment on my site asking for Elvis. I should have none if I didn’t, you would.

    We both chose a song from a musical as well. We really have to meet some day! A weekend of movies and coffee and talking for hours. Have a great weekend.

    • Haha it’s all good, I was just teasing! Both clips seem to work, so it’s all good. As for Elvis, I felt like if I didn’t put him on the list, I’d be shaming my dad lol.

      We both had great lists 🙂 It’s hard to narrow it down to 15. And yes, we should have to meet some day! If you’re ever up in this area, lemme know, I’ll take you out for a coffee 🙂

Leave a Reply

