31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 11

#11. If I had to spend the rest of my life with no human contact, but was allowed one TV show, one book, one movie and one cd to occupy myself with, what would they be?

This question was originally “I stopped _____ at age ___…”, and I could not for the life of me think of an honest answer.  Sure, I’ve “quit” smoking, but on occasion I do have one.  And for the most part I stopped eating my feelings, but everyone has their bad days, and honestly, it’s happened a couple of times since I’ve quit.   So in keeping with the rules, this is the one question I’m allowed to change. 

As for my self-written question, I also had a hard time answer, mostly because there were so many choices!  But after some thought, I narrowed it down.

The TV show I’d have for the rest of my figurative isolated life would be Friends.  I’ve watched this show at least 10 times through on my dvds alone, and I can’t even say how many of them I’ve seen on television.  This show still makes me laugh, and I still find it very entertaining.  This show is a real comfort to me, and I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it.

The book I’d have is the Shining.  I read this book almost every year, and I absolutely adore it.  It’s the only horror novel I’ve ever read that has actually scared me – and for those anti-King people out there, this is definitely one of his books I’d really recommend reading.  Sure, I’m not a fan of all of his books, but this one is a definite winner.  The characterizations are amazing, the narrative is well-written, and it’s just an amazing story.  Oh, and yeah, it’s totally better than the movie.

The movie I’d have is the Back to the Future.  Now, this isn’t my number 1 favourite film of all time, but it’s definitely one of my favourite films.  I’ve seen this loads of times as well, and I really don’t get sick of it.  I love the concept, and every time I watch it I get wrapped up in the story.

The CD was probably the hardest, because it’s really hard to narrow it down.  But if I could only ever listen to one cd for the rest of my life, I’d have to say the Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More with Feeling CD.  I love this musical, and I still listen to it all the time.  I’ve seen the episode so much that I can listen to the soundtrack and visualize the episode, so that would be beneficial if I had to spend the rest of my life in solitude.

I suppose I looked at what I wouldn’t likely get sick of, because there are some things I love, but I can’t watch too much – like the film American Psycho.  Man, if that was the only film I could ever watch for the rest of my life, I think I’d be a little messed up.

8 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 11

  1. Love your choices! I would def pick friends (Buffy a a very close second) and my movie would be Bridget Jones, I never get sick of it. I couldn’t possibly pick a book! and the OMWF soundtrack is brilliant.

    I also LOVE the image you found from American Psycho, that is my favourite part of the movie. That movie would definetly mess with your head.

    • Nice! I do love Bridget Jones, it’s a great chick flick without being too chicky. I never get sick of Legally Blonde either for some reason, or Mean Girls, but I guess I had to narrow down my choice!

      Yeah, American Psycho is messed – I’m so happy I found that image! lol

  2. Great answer and question!!! If I had to choose, I would pick Buffy for my show, Misery for my book (omg I love it), for movie…probably ummmmmmmmmm, pass, haha can’t think of one, and for CD probably Lady Gaga, haha.

    Excellent choice with the Buffy soundtrack, very nice!!!

  3. Good choice Cherlyn, you sure will have fun 🙂
    If it was me I would choose “Gone with the wind” for a book, the cd will be collection of classical music and the show … well that’s hard to choose I have few in mind but there isn’t only one, so I guess I’ll try to find way to bring with me 2 shows, 1 extra instead of a movie which for me will be Bad boys 1.

    • An interesting selsection indeed! Yeah I had a hard time narrowing down my stuff, but I had to go with what I won’t get sick of lol (I get bored easily)

Leave a Reply

