Poetry Thursday #53

Another intermission from the 31 Days of Blogging Honesty.  Although, this week’s poem is still following the trend of openness and honesty that this month seems to be bringing, so it’s not quite as much of an intermission as I would have liked.

I only have one poem this week, and frankly, it’s not the best poem I’ve ever written.  It’s more prose than anything, but, it’s one of the closest things to my heart that I’ve written in a long time, and even though it’s not very good, I’d still like to share it. 

Cannot Find the Words
I try to write a poem,
a few thoughts in verse –
but no words can describe
quite what I’m feeling.
A visit from you
leaves me breaking with tears,
feeling more helpless
than I’ve ever felt.
A bunch of words pushed
together, no real rhyme,
is nowhere near enough
effort to show you
how much I care.
Because through all your anger
masking your despair
from your life, from your past,
from the hole you’re stuck in –
you are blind to see
that you are never alone.
And when you tell me
you wish you were dead,
and that you hate all the world,
I cannot find the words
to make everything better.
And one day I’ll know
that they’ll tell me
those words, that have
haunted my nightmares,
invaded my thoughts –
that you will be as dead
as you wished you were.
And what’s worst of all
is that no one will know
just how great you are
and how great you
could have been.
And I’m sorry that
I cannot find the words
to make everything better.

"Weight of the World" by Sofia aka NeedToFly on deviantart.com

6 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #53

  1. I really felt the helpness in this poem of someone who is desperatly trying to help a friend. Big emotional connection with the words and feelings here.

    • I’m glad the message came through, it was a poem I was unsure of – wasn’t sure if it would get jumbled or something. I’m glad you liked it!

  2. That a very powerful and emotional poem. It is so difficult to be in those situations; to show someone just how important they are. They are lucky to have someone like you to turn to ❤

  3. *empathises* yeah it’s so frustrating sometimes when the word just doesn’t recognise how amazing someone is, and you know, and you want everyone to understand and care, and you want the person to see clearly how precious they are and how it’s worth keeping going…. hard one. :S xx

Leave a Reply

