31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 10

#10. What I dislike most about the opposite sex is…

Well this is a loaded question isn’t it?  I’ll try to be as tactful as I can be.

What I dislike most about the opposite sex is their general apparent shallowness.  This is not to say that I think all men are shallow, or that women aren’t.  Honestly, people are shallow.  But for the sake of the question, I really dislike it when men are shallow.  Mostly because as a single heterosexual woman, being of a larger, curvier nature (which is considered “ugly” by many), this makes it hard for me to meet men.  No, no, that’s not really true.  It makes me lose confidence in myself, which then makes me uncomfortable meeting men.

A lot of the single men I meet are attracted to slender, beautiful women – rightfully so, I have a lot of dear friends who fall into that category, and yeah, I can totally understand why people would be attracted to them. Smokin’!  Ok, enough hitting on my friends for this post.  Anyways, this set standard for beauty often makes me feel undesirable because I don’t fall into that category of beauty.  It’s not that I think I’m ugly or anything (well, we all have days where we don’t feel nearly as pretty as other days), it’s just when compared to those typical types of women, men often overlook me, or find me undesirable. 

Overall, I find the women I know, and myself included, are more open to dating men with varying degrees of looks and types.  I’m not really attracted to “pretty men” so-to-say, and I have friends who like short guys, I have friends who like really skinny guys, and then there’s the rest of us who just like guys when we know we like them.  Sometimes I’m attracted to someone, and people are like “ugh, why?”, and I can’t really say.  Whenever I talk to men it’s often generalized “she’s hot” or “she’s fugly” or “she’s fat”.  Now, not being a guy, I’m not sure if this is just how guys talk to people, because maybe they don’t want people to judge them if they don’t like “the norm”.  Just a reminder though, I do know plenty of guys who are not shallow, and often are attracted to a girl because of her personality.  But then again, these are guys who I’m not interested in that way and are not interested in me that way – so I don’t really count them while answering this question.

I guess just to summarize, I dislike it most when men judge me on how I look before getting to know me, because I think I’m pretty great, and I don’t think I’m ugly.  I dislike it because it makes me feel like that’s what every man is doing, and there could be someone looking at me and actually liking what they see, and because of some shallow jerks, I find it overall hard t believe anyone would like what they see.

8 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 10

  1. I have to agree, shallow people are not attractive. It’s easy to drool over good looking celebs because we don’t know them, but in real life situations personality counts for alot!

  2. Wow, honesty is flowing during this month! Just in case you didn’t know, there is another person taking part in this and her site is http://howcanicomplain.wordpress.com/.

    People are shallow and often when I come across someone who isn’t and they are up front about everything (especially when people are blunt) and say whatever comes to mind, I’m offended by that person. Their personality is too brash, too honest. Then I get to know them and I find it refreshing to know someone who is for lack of a better word, deep.

    Beauty might attract someone to another person but beauty is not the glue that can keep them connected. True beauty is inner beauty and that is the kind of beauty that can cement two people together. Outward cutes fade with time. Breasts sag, wrinkles come. Real love is found inward and if you wait for the right person or the right person is searching – you will find each other. Great post and you are a beautiful person.

    • Oh, thanks for letting me know! I’ll have to check out their blog 🙂

      I think what that if I’m attracted to anyone physically, I find I’m usually attracted to the non-typical types of people – guys who look a little bit different from the norm. Maybe it’s that, or maybe I’m seeing part of who they are shining through, it’s hard to say. And yes, I agree, beauty is definitely more than skin deep – if I meet someone who is a mean person, or cruel, I can’t find them attractive. Someone who is kind and a decent person is really attractive tom e.

      And thank you 🙂 You’re a sweetie!

  3. I have strong dislike for shallow people. You can’t judge someone on how they look; for me when I meet someone it is their personality I see first, and that is really what should count, not appearances.

    You are a lovely and beautiful girl in my eyes ❤

  4. So much true in this post Cherlyn. But let me tell you many times handsome men are a big trouble or just not with anything else but beauty inside them and on the end of the day you don’t make a conversation and have a nice time with only pretty eyes or nicely shaped body, it takes much more for a person to be descent and human.
    As for you, you are a very sweet lady and don’t let anyone to convince you other wise.

    • Yeah, definitely agree with you there. Most super typically “attractive” men (well, the ‘norm’ for attractive anyways, not necessarily what I find attractive) aren’t necessarilly the nicest of people. I’m usually drawn to their personality, not their appearance.

      And as for your other statement, thank you very much, you’re a sweetheart as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

