31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 4

#4. The worst thing to ever happen to me…

You know, I don’t even know how to answer this question.  I always go through my life and generally think “It could have been worse”.  Sure, some crappy stuff has happened to me, but I’m pretty lucky overall.  I know sometimes me and my friends may sit around at a Timmy’s, drinking coffee, and bitch about our lives, but really, we’re all pretty luck people.  I mean, there are things I consider terrible things to happen to people:

  • Losing a limb
  • Getting an incurable disease and/or fatal disease
  • Losing family members before their time
  • Natural disasters
  • Assault of any sort
  • Abuse of any sort
  • Jersey Shore

And that’s just to name a few off the top of my head.  I’m very fortunate to have grown up in North America – to live in a society where I can go to school, be treated equally as a woman, have more than enough food, and great healthcare (well, at least in Canada we have great healthcare).  I’m grateful and guilty to live in this society – knowing that other people in the world will never get the same opportunities given to me in their lifetime.  I hear people bitch and moan about just about anything, I’m not exempt from that statement, it happens.  People are ungrateful for what they have, and yes, there are people who live in my society that have very terrible lives, but generally speaking, we’re all given more opportunities than other people.

So to answer the question, I guess the worst thing to ever happen to me is to live in guilt of my own existence – knowing that I’ve been given more than I deserve in life, and that for every time I feel a little sorry for myself, I don’t deserve to.  Maybe if something awful happens to me (knock on wood it hasn’t yet), then I may have something more interesting to write about, but for right now, I can’t pick anything, because my life is pretty great – and I’m grateful for that.

"The Hard Life: Grateful" by CittensCollar on deviantart.com

4 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 4

  1. Well that is a great answer and one I did not expect from anyone. You are very blessed and no matter what is going on with us someone else has it worse.

    • That’s good to hear, I like to be different! haha. And yeah, that’s the way I try to live my life, because I used to be pretty negative, but I find this helps me find the joys in life.

Leave a Reply

