31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 3

Hopefully by now you realize what 31 Days of Blogging Honesty is, because I can’t think of any interesting ways to describe it again.  So let’s just skip the awkwardness from now on and go straight to the question!

#3. My favourite song for the year I was born…

I would like to state for the record that I do not like this question.  Anyone who knows me well will know I’m a freaking moron when it comes to music.  I enjoy music theory, musicals, and the stuff that I generally know and like already.  But I hooorrrible when it comes to music trivia, like when songs came out and who they were by etcetera.  I don’t like this question because I had to look through lists up on lists of singles that were released in the year 1989, which was expected, but most of the songs I was literally drawing a blank on.  I’ve probably heard plenty of them, but I could only really recognize a few.  So shame on you question for bringing to attention my musical stupidity. 

However, I have two songs, because I recognized them and I do like them.

My favourite would have to be One by Metallica

Sorry again for the crappy video, the official videos are never allowed to be embedded it seems.  Now I do know that this album was released in 1988 technically (I only know this because I actually love Metallica and was relieved to see them on any of the lists).  This song was released as a single in January of 1989, so technically, I think it should count.  Why I love this song?  It’s Metallica, duh.  Nothing is more satisfying than hearing the beginning of this song, it’s just dark, melodic, sad, and kind of resentful all at the same time.  Not to mention the lyrics.  Oh man, Metallica lyrics – so amazing.  Now this isn’t my favourite Metallica song, but it’s up there.  This song definitely is for days where I’m pissed off, or feeling upset, and I just need some music to make me feel justified in my feelings, or to help put words to what I’m feeling.  It’s just epic. 

For any sticklers out there who think it’s not “fair” that I picked a song that’s album came out in 1988, I did pick a “back-up” of sorts.  The other song I picked was Janie’s Got a Gun by Aerosmith. 

Crappy quality video, I know, sorry.  I really enjoy Aerosmith, I think they have a lot of great songs, and they’re all very catchy.  I really enjoy this song, it’s again, a very dark song.  Because of the subject matter of the song, I don’t listen to it very much.  It makes me angry, and sad, not at the song, but where the song comes from and what it’s about.  I think it’s a well made song, but when I put it next to Metallica, Metallica wins.  Hell, most things compared to Metallica in my eyes don’t have a winning chance, so what can you expect.

And just because I bitched and moaned about not knowing anything about music, I’m going to tell you what my favourite movie is that came out in 1989, you know, just to make myself feel better. 

1989 was a great year (at least in my opinion) for films.  Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade came out, so did Back to the Future II, and Ghostbusters II.  Not to mention Little Mermaid, Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, Dead Poet’s Society, Parenthood, Driving Miss Daisy, and UHF.  Be impressed because I only had to look up one of those movies to make sure I had the date right.  And yes, I definitely put UHF, the Weird Al movie up there – it’s awesome.  But if I had to pick one favourite film that was released the year I was born – I’d absolutely have to say, without a doubt:

Oh yes, I went there.

 Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moonlight?

Personal Update: I woke up this morning and found out the results of the Canadian Federal election.  My thoughts – overall unimpressed with the number of mindless sheep in this country, following what’s “easy”, aka, what they do not have to research.  People, I do not want to live in America, and Conservatives idealize the Republican party, so it’s only a matter of time before this country I love starts to look unfamiliar.  It will begin with the privatization of our healthcare, and lax gun control.  I hope you fucking idiotic sheep are happy that you didn’t have to do any research on the issues, or make any effort at all.  Yes, listen to the flame ads on the television and radio, because obviously they must be true.  Thanks you, you fucking asshole, mindless, sheep.  Follow your shepherd towards making the rich richer and towards the red, white and blue, go now, follow!  BAHHHH!

A note on my update: It is 10am and now that I got a bit of my frustration out of my system, I realize my update was a bit harsh I suppose.  Overall, that is how I feel, but if I were to write it again, it probably wouldn’t be so angry.  Oh well, that’s what happens when I get bad news when I haven’t had my coffee yet.  Ok, I promise, no more personal updates!

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day 3

  1. I agree with Tom, both an excellent Movie and an excellent photo! You have great answers, Cherlyn. They are very through and you can tell you really thought them out.

  2. Never mess with a man’s rhubarb! Great movie and awesome photo. I don’t have that one. I didn’t mean to make you work so hard to get an answer, but happily you were able to come up with two.

    • I have no idea what the first phrase means lol, but thanks I suppose haha.

      I’m just not a music person, well I am in some regards, but music trivia doesn’t interest me – couldn’t care less I suppose. But alas, I was determined to answer! And I prevailed 🙂

        • You know, I haven’t sit down to watch that whole movie in about ten years lol. We had it on vhs, and I haven’t bought it on DVD yet – mostly because everytime I see it its in the fourpack combo with the other batman films, and I only like the first two. Oh wells.

Leave a Reply

