Poetry Thursday #43

Hurray, another Poetry Thursday!  Only one poem again this week – I must admit, I’m finding this weather and just life in general uninspiring as far as poetry goes.  I’m hoping once the snow starts melting and the sky starts to look blue again, that I’ll feel more inspired!  Shades of grey can only be so inspiring.  I was hoping to get a post up for this weekend, but it seems I didn’t give myself enough time to write it, and since I’m headed to London, ON, this weekend, I probably won’t get around to doing it until Sunday now.  Bad Cherlyn!  Oh wells, my bad.  Maybe I’ll bring my camera and actually feel inclined to take some photos of London and share them here.  Though I can assure you they won’t be nearly as interesting or as good of quality as the ones that my friend Saber takes.  Even if I had a good camera, I’m sure I’d still manage to get my finger in the shot, or make everyone look shiny and weird.  Damn other people and their talents *shakes fist into the air*.  Just as a side note, I totally shook my fist too, I’m just that awesome. 

Oh, just wanted to mention, because I am going away for a few days, I probably won’t be able to get caught up on all the blog posts I have to read until after that, so sorry to everyone who may or may  not be thinking “Gee, Cherlyn’s a bitch” (c’mon, someone has to be thinking it…oh wait, that’s me again.  I am so hard on myself, I think I should have long talk with myself and then hug and make-up.).  Anyways, I will be catching up early next week, just sorry for not having much time to do it now!

Also, as I’m writing this it is Groundhog Day, and Wiarton Willie (from Wiarton, ON) predicted an early spring.  Now, it’s not that I don’t believe in the magical gift of foresight that groundhogs possess, I just think that after the snowstorm my area just had, I’m a bit skeptical.  On a side note, I found out today that there are quite a few different predicting groundhogs in North America.  I have to say, my favourite is Balzac Billy from Balzac, Alberta.  Probably because it sounds like ball sack, and I’m immature.  Also, I’d like to give the “most random groundhog name” award to Susquehanna Sherman from Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania.  Man, that is a mouthful.  Teehee, Balzac…mouthful… Oh dear, this is just getting out of hand.  Anyways, the reason I brought Groundhog Day up is because every year on this day I watch an amazing comedy, Groundhog Day.  If you haven’t watched it, I think you should because it is awesome!  So yeah, if you haven’t seen it, it’s about a man who ends up repeating the same day over, and over, and over again.  I suppose I was inspired by it this week.

Have a great weekend and now for the poem!

Monotonous
Routinely wake, and breathe, and live,
passing through each moment in time
as blandly and dismally as the moment before.
Each new tick tock of life’s clock
is just a repeating echo of what has been.
Never faltering, never changing,
a metronome for the mundane –
rhythmically reminding us that today is yesterday,
that there will never be a tomorrow,
that each day is always the same. 

"Hall of Repetition" by Juan aka Jalvarado on deviantart.com

16 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #43

  1. Your conversations with yourself are too funny, Cherlyn. I’m so glad you share them. Love, love, love the movie “Groundhog Day” … agree … and the poem is quite good. I think folks everywhere are getting tired of winter and look forward to spring.

    Have a great trip …

    • Haha, well, I thought I should share those conversations with the world, or else I just looked a little crazy lol. Groundhog Day is awesome, I adore Bill Murray! Thanks for stopping by, 🙂

  2. Wow. Your poem just explained the whole of my working life as of now. Haha. Everything’s monotonous, you wake up early, get to work early, do the same things you do everyday, get home, and sleep. Whoa. What I hate about being a grown up. But then, I thank my family, friends and loved ones for cheering me up or for meeting up with me just so everyday won’t be as ordinary as yesterday. Because it’s also up to you how you can make a monotonous day an extraordinary one! Haha. 😉 Great poem, I love its simplicity and truthfulness.

    • Very true indeed. For every day that is repeated, we have the power to break the cycle of repitition. Sometimes it’s just so easy to fall back into the monotonous side of life lol. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I forgot you gave me your blog’s address until I found it by accident today! So much fun to read, and off course devoured your Gerard story. I just wished you didn’t have the couple making the comment of the missing girl, that way the end would’ve been even more shocking.
    Cheers! And I will definitely stop by soon.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it – and yes that’s definitely one thing I was going to change, but I decided to leave it mostly how I had it from back in high school; it’s a learning experience I suppose. Thanks for stopping by!!

  4. I really like this poem Cherlyn. As I read it a second time it sounds more like a narrative to a movie instead of reading like a poem and I like that. I read it a third time and amazingly it was Morgan Freeman’s voice. Sorry I am late getting here. I’ve got some things going on.

  5. I hope you will have great time on your time away. Enjoy it! …

    As usual the introduction before the poetry is … 🙂 rather amusing. And the poetry is … one of my days lately, boring monotonous, routinely wintry days …

    I hope this month will be over as soon as possible, so spring can slowly come in here 🙂

    Enjoyed your post as usual, read it the other day when you posted, and see when I got time to leave a comment … sorry for the delay!

    Happy weekend!

    • Thanks! Sorry for getting back to you late, didn’t have much time on the computer.

      I hope this month will be over soon as well; if it continues with this pace, I’ll be happy.

      Hope you had a great weekend!

  6. I too heard that the groundhogs are predicting an early spring, but I also heard that alot of other slightly more scientific methods have been used and are also calling for an early spring all across canada. So that snow might melt sooner than you think!

    I like the poem really describes that feeling of boring mind numbing repetition that can drive you crazy at this time of year. Great post this week, hope you enjoy your trip!

    P.S. Thanks for the link:)

  7. I seriously die laughing when you talk/argue with yourself in your posts, and the whole bit about the groundhogs day was simple amazing, you are so funny!

    The poem very much matches that grey feeling that seems to come about during the winter months, and I dunno if it is just me, but that repetition, and of things not changing felt like ‘insert smart literature work for what it is’ relating it to the winter month, how things seem to be in a static state, not like spring or fall, where we constantly see the area around us changing.

    Lovely as always and enjoy your trip, misses you!

Leave a Reply

