Poetry Thursday #41

It is about 3:40am as I write this, yawning my face off and trying to sip at my coffee which has just finished brewing.  I was scolding myself when I woke up for not only not having written this post beforehand, but for only sharing one poem this week.  I was all “Cherlyn, you’re such a slacker”.  As I tried to drink my coffee my stomach twinged in pain again, as I’ve gotten some form of stomach bug or perhaps food poisoning and it has made it a pain in the ass (and the stomach, hahaha) to eat or drink anything.  Yum, nausea!  I’m not writing this to complain (per se), but after that, I told myself “You know what, Cherlyn?” and then I replied, “What?”.  I said to myself “Screw you, I’ve been sick, working and tired all week, and as much as I want to focus more on my blog, or keeping up with people, it’s been difficult so cut myself a break.”  Then I told myself it wasn’t a good sign that I was talking to myself again.  But alas, I only have one poem this week, and I just wanted to apologize for not keeping up with my spontaneous posts that I promised.  I’ve definitely got the Winter Blues, and sometimes it’s hard to keep motivated –  yeah, plus being miserably sick doesn’t help.  Also, I’m trying to keep up with everyone’s blogs and emails – sorry if I haven’t commented or sent you something back right away, I really hate it when people don’t get back to me but I know they’ve been on the internet, so it probably bugs me more that I’ve been doing it as of late.  But I’m working through the list to get back on track!  Anywho, enough of my incoherent ramblings, on with the poem.  Enjoy!

Life in Shades of Grey
Shades of grey I cannot name,
framing my life in black and white.
The days are bleak and dark,
there is no colour, there is no light.

The chill air caresses my sullen face;
lingering echoes of broken screams
dance lifelessly in the winter breeze,
the last remnants of forgotten dreams.

I hope for more than this miserable season,
I pray for more than just the grey.
I want to see life’s vibrant colours,
to dance carefree in the light of day.

"Wish I Had Not Woke Up" by IXLahatielXI on deviantart.com

14 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #41

    • Thanks – I’m feeling a bit better, just been feeling sluggish and lazy, but I always get like this this time of year.

      And I’m glad you enjoyed it – thanks for stopping by!

  1. oh wow.
    Lovely poem
    Makes me imagine how life would be if there were shades of gray. Unfortunately I live in a place that is almost always sunny, and gray days are rare from where I come from!

    I wish I could write like you though.
    Writing poetry is a huge challenge for me.

    • Well if you ever come to Canada during the winter season, you’ll see many shades of grey! I’m a little jealous of your sunny location! 😛

      Poetry is a challenge for me as well, I just keep practising and hope that I get better. If you keep writing though, your skill improves, and you never know, your poems could be really good! I think we’re all a little hard on ourselves.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Lovely poem, you always seem to be able to make even depressing grey days into somthing beautiful!

    I don’t like grey days much myself, I find them depressing. Somtimes those can be good, I use them to catch up on work or watch a movie and relax bacause I don’t want to go outside.

    Great poem this week, hope you feel better soon and that you get some sunshine!

  3. Feel better soon and don’t worry about mails and comments, online adventures will still be here to wait for you to come back refreshed, healed and ready to climb mountains.

    Loved the poem, absolutely in harmony with my mind these days of winter. Perfect as always!

    I owe you an e-mail, but that will be a bit later on! Hugs!

  4. Lovely poem, really illustrates those winter blues! Love the conversation with yourself, amazing. I am sorry your still feel under the weather, I do hope you feel better soon, and that there are more sunny days a comin!!

  5. Wonderful imagery. I understand what you are talking about however I actually like grey/gray drab days. I love the sunny days too.

    There’s a lot of uncertainty in the grey. Thanks for sharing and don’t feel bad. This poem alone is good enough. I do miss reading two though. I hope you are feeling much better very soon.

    • Sometimes I don’t mind grey days – it’s just that time of the year where I want sunlight. It’s easy to become sad and bleh this time of year, and the crummy weather and the bleak grey skies doesn’t help lol.

      I’m hoping to motivate myself more to write. I’ve been making excuses as to why I haven’t been writing, and some of them are valid, some of them aren’t. one things for sure, I’ve been feeling like I’ve been losing my writing enthusiasm these past few weeks. I think it’s more of a reflection of how I feel about my life, rather than the actual process of writing. I hope I figure it out!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

