Poetry Thursday #37

Hello interwebs!  I only have one poem this week, sorries!  I’ve been working a lot these past few weeks, and with all the stuff that’s been going on, and random stupid drama that announced itself (though extremely unwelcome and uninvited), I haven’t been feeling up to writing as much as I’d like to.  I’ve just been really lazy these past few days, especially this week.  I think it’s from being over tired.  Which means I’ll have to increase my daily caffeine intake, hopefully that’ll counterbalance my procrastination.  I’ve been wanting to do a bunch of things lately, like get my presents wrapped, do some favours for friends, read, etc., and I just haven’t been up for it.  Hopefully with my new coffee prescription I’ll be much more up to doing some creative writing by next week :)! 

Anyways, enough half asleep rambling and on with the poem!  Let me know what you think!

Oh, and I just wanted to thank Tom Baker for creating the Community Networking Meme, I had a lot of fun with it, and it really helped me branch out to other bloggers around the internet.  Thanks! 🙂  Oh, and thank you to Blaga for being such a sweetheart these past few weeks – with all the stuff going on, it’s nice to know that awesome and sweet people like you are around in this world! 🙂

I Am Frozen, So She Says
I walk alone within the frost,
searching for the warmth I lost.
Is it buried beneath the snow,
freezing in the ground below?
I am frozen, I am cold –
I am awful, or so I’m told.
I would care if I had a heart,
but like my warmth it did depart.
And so I search for my fire,
for my soul, and for my desires.
Until then I am cold, and I am frozen,
walking along the path I’ve chosen.

"Frosted" by Saber Hodson aka midnightreflections on deviantart.com

8 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #37

  1. I loved this poem, the word frost always creates such lovely images. The word is so under-rated.

    “I would care if I had a heart,
    but like my warmth it did depart.
    And so I search for my fire,
    for my soul, and for my desires.
    Until then I am cold, and I am frozen,
    walking along the path I’ve chosen.”

    I love this part. I have to admit though that the first thing I thought of when reading it was Once More with Feeling. Buffy singing Walk through the fire.

    “I touch the fire and it freezes me.
    I look into it and it’s black.
    Why can’t I feel?
    My skin should crack and peel!
    I want the fire back!”

    Yeah ok maybe I’ve watched that one time too many.

    Anywho fantastic poem, and I hope your new coffee prescription helps to perk you up!

    • Haha I suppose it is similar! And there’s nothing wrong with watching it too much, it’s awesome. I have to say, sometimes it does feel like I can’t feel anything lol if that makes any sense lol.

  2. Lovely poem, and a beautiful picture to accompany it.

    I hope you week gets better, and the drama removes itself from your days. You are completely right, the frost never lasts!! For me, the poem really becomes about other people stealing your warmth from you, and leaving you cold. You a lovely person, never let any one else try to tell you otherwise ;D

  3. Oh, I absolutely loved this, the first two lines
    I walk alone within the frost,
    searching for the warmth I lost…. it’s so me every winter.
    One poem, but what a great one!
    Thanks for mentioning me here, talking to you is a pleasure.
    May you find peace and better days! We all have the bleh sometimes … and this is where friends come to help/smiles/ I consider you my friend / only online, but still a good one/

  4. Such great words. I know I’ve felt like this on many an occasion. You’ve captured me perfectly over the years, but I’m happy when the sun makes the frost disappear! It’s sad and cold like you expressed but beautiful to look at at the same time.

    • Yeah normally I don’t mind the winter too much, sure it can be annoying, but it’s not bad. I’ve had a bad few weeks, and soem people just make me feel like no matter what I do, it’s always wrong and I’m awful for it. But you’re right, the frost never lasts forever 🙂

Leave a Reply

