Poetry Thursday #32 – Remembrance Day

Today in Canada is Remembrance Day, which is also honoured in other Commonwealth countries, but to me it will always be Canadian.  For any of my readers who are not Canadian, or aren’t as familiar with Remembrance Day, it is a day to remember and honour the sacrifices made by the men and women during war times – both armed forces and civilians alike.  The reason we observe Remembrance Day on this date is because it signifies the end of the First World War – the date were the major hostilities formally ended.  It is said that the war formally ended on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month, how 100% accurate that is I do not know, but that is what I’ve been told.  We honour those with a moment of silence, generally around the 11th hour of the day – not always on that specific hour, but a moment of silence is given.  To me this date is very important, and it means a lot to me on a lot of different levels.  I have family who has fought in World War II, and I have friends who has family in the army right now, and I think that we should honour them more than just one day of the year.  There are some people who sneer at war, which I can understand to an extent, sometimes wars are fought for no reason, or without good reason.  But no matter if I agree with the conflict or not, if there are Canadian soldiers, people, fighting in situations I can never imagine, then I will support them, and I will honour them.

This week I have only one poem, which I wrote specifically for Remembrance Day.  Though it is no “In Flanders Fields“, I wrote it with those men and women in my heart.

Always Remember
Echoes of battles passed
still linger upon their ears,
haunting them, taunting them;
a nightmare that always lasts.
But they hold their face
still and strong, stronger
than you or I – but internal
scars can never be erased.
Upon our heart, bright and red
we wear our poppies proudly.
A reminder of those echoes,
to honour those alive and dead.
The battles we cannot regret –
for they fought for us.
And we continue to remember,
to honour – lest we forget.

"Remembrance" by Tom Storey on Deviantart.com

6 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #32 – Remembrance Day

  1. That was a lovely poem. I think it was a beautiful idea to devote the poem today to remembrance day. I think today is such a powerful day, and such an important one, because although wars are consistently happening all year round, I find that I am always removed from it, and its days like today that make me feel somewhat a part of it, and make me realize the scarifices the people who fight for Canada make and honour them and everything they do. Really lovely post!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      I’m actually quite annoyed at the moment though – I know a few people that I like to call New-Age Hippies. They like to bash just about everything and anything to do with the government, cruelty to people/animals etc. Sure, their causes are something worth discussing, arguing about, caring about – but there are somethings I don’t agree with. And that’s disrespecting veterans on Remembrance day. Fucking Tristan Johnson from highschool, him and his goddamn hippy speak all the time…grrr… All people like him ever do is bitch and moan about society, the government, the economy and every other thing that drives society, but they never get off their fat lazy asses to do anything about the problems that piss them off so much. Fuck, just pisses me off – if you can’t respect the war veterans, fine, that’s you being a dick and your’e free to do it, but shut the fuck up on Remembrance day because no one else wants to fucking hear it.

  2. Today is Veteran’s Day here in the states. I think I’ve always wanted to say, “in the states”. Anyway, I appreciate the information. I’ve seen Remembrance Day on the calendar year after year and never bothered to find out what it meant – or I once knew and forgot.

    This poem is a wonderful sentiment and honor for Canadian soldiers and families. War is horrible and sometimes necessary. It’s good to remember those who fought and should be remembered. I feel bad that I forgot to create a post in remembrance but I have already scheduled one for next year so I don’t forget.

    • I forgot that today was Veteran’s day in the states – I guess I thought it was another day. Maybe I’m thinking of Memorial day. That’s probably it.

      I agree, sometimes War is necessary, but sometimes what’s necessary isn’t always pleasant. I will never undestand the pain our Veteran’s have gone through, and I may never see true suffering, true horror like they – the least I can do is respect and honour the things they have done and sacrificed.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

