Nothing Like a Good Cup of Coffee with Friends

Last night and this morning I had two very lovely cups of coffee with friends, and it was delicious.

I had some friends “surprise” me with a visit, and on the way home we got a coffee for the road.  All we did was talk about life, media, and stupid shit.  God I miss seeing them on a regular basis.  This morning I had a coffee with my best friend over breakfast, and honestly my love of coffee is thanks to my friend Ryan.   

It got me thinking though; there are so many people I don’t talk to anymore, so many friends I’ve lost over the years.  I don’t really feel much for them either.  Isn’t that sad?  That I could lose people who I thought were so important and not feel anything but apathy for them?  When my friend Sara and I stopped talking for a while, I was angry, and sad, and most importantly lonely and upset.  With some other people, I got tired of their drama, and I basically told them to fuck off.  And I feel nothing.  I guess this apathy just shows how little they touched my life.  Whereas people like my friends from my hometown I hardly see I miss all the time, and seeing them if only for a few hours is just so awesome.  And being apart from some of my London friends is just as heartbreaking. 

Those people are the ones I will always make time to have a cup coffee with, because without them there’d be a void.

And as cheesey as the lyrics to the FRIENDS theme “I’ll Be There For You”, it really does apply to how I feel about my friends:

So no one told you life was going to be this way.
Your job’s a joke, you’re broke, you’re love life’s DOA.
It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear,
Well, it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

But, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.
I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.
I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

You’re still in bed at ten, the work began at eight.
You’ve burned your breakfast, so far, things are going great.
Your mother warned you there’d be days like these,
But she didn’t tell you when the world has brought you down to your knees.

That, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.
I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.
I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

No one could ever know me, no one could ever see me.
Seems like you’re the only one who knows what it’s like to be me.
Someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with,
Someone I’ll always laugh with, even at my worst, I’m best with you.

It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear,
Well, it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year.

But, I’ll be there for you, when the rain starts to pour.
I’ll be there for you, like I’ve been there before.
I’ll be there for you, cause you’re there for me too.

2 thoughts on “Nothing Like a Good Cup of Coffee with Friends

  1. Aw I misses you too when you aren’t around and I am glad to hear I am the one who got you addicted to coffee, muh hah haha. Those lyrics apply sooo much, tis so true!!!

Leave a Reply

