Poetry Thursday #75

I forgot to post this yesterday, so I know this isn’t technically Thursday, but who likes technicalities anyways?

I haven’t felt up to writing for a long time, so I’m not going to make promises to keep up with my blog – I know I’m not going to follow through with them right now.  But I’ll try not to be a stranger I suppose.  Hope everyone out there is doing well! 

Don’t Turn Away
Grasping for your hand
clawing at your skin -
trickles of blood
underneath my finger nails.
Don’t let those small
fragments of skin embedded
beneath those half-moons
be the last piece of you
I will ever know.
Don’t turn away.

Sinking in those feelings,
remorse and pools of regret -
don’t let me go without
another second chance.
I never meant to blame you;
I thought I could see
with my eyes closed tight.
I’m hanging on by one finger
clasped tightly on the edge.
Don’t turn away.

Please don’t make me
beg anymore, don’t let me
make those same mistakes again.
I didn’t know my heart,
shattered from the past
could break into smaller pieces.
I didn’t know I could die again.
Don’t give up on me,
I don’t want to let you go -
don’t turn away.

"Don't Go Away" by LikeNoOne7 on deviantart.com

6 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #75

  1. The structure of this poem really suits the mood you created. I suppose because the lines are shorter I read it faster and it really affected me in the end. It made me fell the loss, and the longing for someone after they have left – of all the things you think after the fact, of what you could have said to stop them. But its too late now. So moving!

Leave a Reply

