An Update of Sorts with a “Top List” Included

My absence just seems to grow bigger and bigger, and I don’t have an explanation or an excuse as to why.  I guess we all go through a period where we are uninspired, but I just hate that I’m going through it and have been going through it for so long.  It’s like when you let something you need to do get pushed on the back burner, and you kind of forget about it – and when you get back to it there’s so much to do to get it back on track it feels like an overwhelming job.  That’s what my blog feels like to me – it feels a bit overwhelming to get back on track.  I had plenty of time to work on posts this week and I didn’t.  I had plenty of time to read other blogs and I didn’t.  And I can keep making apologetic posts but I feel that everyone is just as tired of reading them as I am of writing them.

So where do I go from here?  *Cue Buffy the Vampire Slayer Musical tune here*

Well, one option is to give up.  That’s the easy route, the route that doesn’t feel like I’ve accomplished anything.

Another option is for me to take some baby steps to get back into my routine.  And it seems like I’m taking that option with other aspects of my life so I might as well do that with my blog.  I’m not ready to give up on my writing, and I’m not ready for everyone to give up on me yet either.  You can’t get rid of me that easy damnit!

So with that, I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year – and I hope that we can all stick to our resolutions.  Mine are to get my blog back on track to a healthy posting scheduling and to really work on it.  Another is to get back on track with my eating habits and trying to lose some weight.  I was so close to my goal and I gave up before it came into fruition, so I need to get back at it.  Also, something that may shock people, I’m trying to cut back on coffee. Though I love it and I’m very much addicted to it’s deliciousness, I know that the amount I’m drinking isn’t the greatest, and I shouldn’t let myself “need” to drink the coffee, instead I should just enjoy it like I used to.

Before I leave, I wanted to make a mini “Top 10″ list.  Which is a confusing statement because I have mroe than 10 items listed.  It is a mini list in the sense I am not going to elaborate much on it this time, just a few sentences per item.

Take care my lovelies, I hope to be back on track soon, don’t stop believing in me!

Side note before the list: This new wordpress posting format is pissing me off so much.  I hate the autopreview at the bottom – it makes the page lag so much that it becomes infuriating.  I’m an exceptionally fast typer, and this new layout doesn’t like it – often it just doesn’t get everything I type and I have to go back and fix things I shouldn’t need to.  I don’t like how I can’t find the “save post” feature or where to change the date of the post.  This may come up when I hit “post” but I don’t like how it’s set upt – it takes away the simplicity of posts.  Anyways, rant done.

Top 11 Movies of 2012 I’m Anticipating the Most (in no particular order) and Why

The Hunger Games

This is one of the few movies based on books where I want to read the book first.  The story sounds really interesting and the movie looks awesome.  What more can I say?

The Dark Knight Rises

Any surprises really?  I loved the first two films, I’m eager to see if this film will hold up to the rest.

Snow White and the Huntsman

There’s two Snow White movies coming out next year, and I think this one looks a lot better than Mirror, Mirror.  I just feel like the dark imagery will interest a larger group of people.  I think it looks really good, so I’ll probably go see it.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

I’m a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings trilogy films, and I have no doubt this will be an entertaining film.  I loved the book (I actually prefer the Hobbit so much more than that Lord of the Rings as far as books go), so I’m interested to see how this one turns out.

The Woman in Black

Ah horror films, how I love thee.  I think this looks like a decent ghost story, and I’m eager to see Daniel Radcliffe in something other than Harry Potter.  I think he’s a great actor and I want to see where he goes with his carer.  Plus this comes out close to my birthday, I’m prob going to drag my friends to see it.

Brave

I love Disney Pixar films – with perhaps the exeption of Cars.  But other than that, I’ve always been impressed with what they come out with, and I want to see what this one brings to the table.

Prometheus

I love the film Alien, so i’m thrilled to see Ridley Scott helming a prequel in the Alien universe.  This film could be a total sack of crap but I’ll probably still see it.

Django Unchained

There’s no trailer for this one yet, but I’m excited for it.  I am a Tarantino fan-girl, yes indeedio.  It could be a completely pretentionous sack of crap, but I’ll still love it.  Plus this film has Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Leonarod DiCaprio, Sam Jackson, Kurt Russel and Christopher Waltz to name a few – and whether it be crap or not, I’m sure it’ll be at least entertaining.

Dredd

Another film without a trailer.  My interest in this film may diminish once I see the trailer, but for right now it sounds like an interesting adaptation on the comics.  We’ll have to see I suppose.

Cabin in the Woods

Yes, another fan-girl pick for me.  I love Joss Whedon, so I’ve been following this project closely once heard out it.  I like the spin on a classic horror film trope. 

The Secret World of Arrietty

Big fan of Hayao Miyazaki films, they are always beautiful and just amazing to watch.  This also is supposed to come out near my birthday, double feature mayhaps?

4 thoughts on “An Update of Sorts with a “Top List” Included

  1. I loved that you cued the buffy musical song hahaha, amazing! I love that I have already seen two of this movies with you (since I am posting so late – I am awful for falling soooooooo behind!) I cannot wait for Cabin in the Woods either, it will be so amazing! To many more movie dates to come! I hope was 2012 continue you have more inspiration for your blog – seeing that I have more posts to read I believe you do – I hope things continue on the up for you, darling :)

  2. I’ve seen Brave on the list of many 2012 anticipation list and Pixar has yet to make a film I did not like, so…. The film I am waiting for the most is Prometheus and I would really like to see the film with you because I am such an Alien fan too. It is still the best movie monster (creatively speaking) of all time for me. Also you would have to be dead to not want to see The Dark Knight Rises, however I’m not a big or even small fan of the Bane character.

    So very happy am I to see a post from you Cherlyn! Be encouraged and inspired.

    • I saw very few movies in 2011 (there wasn’t a lot out that year that I was overly excited to see), so I’m trying to make up for it this year! I’m not a fan of the Bane character either, but I’m interested to see what Nolan does with it. I havent been disappointed with his films that I’ve seen so far, so I hope this isn’t the film to do it.

      Thanks Tom :) I’m trying, I’m trying. I’ll be emailing you soon about our collab, and I have scheduled time for me to work on my guest post!

Leave a Reply

