Poetry Thursday #70

Hey everyone, sorry for updating this late, it seems time is always out of grasp for me.  That and sleep.  Oh, and sanity of course.  Anyways, here is my new poem, which will also be my entry Thursday Poets Rally Week 54.  Enjoy :)  Oh, and hopefully I’ll be able to find the time to write a movie review this weekend, as I’m actually taking the time to see a new film *gasp*, I know, shocking!

Depleted
A blinking blur of motion:
endless, lifeless, draining.
Tell me how I lost my way,
why every second passes by
with a quake within my bones.

Adrenaline has failed me,
I’m living on emptiness.

Feigning smiles and cheery eyes
to fool the fools around me -
a sip or two of their poison
is my guise of fitting in.
But I am nothing anymore.

Hours merge into days, merged
into weeks, merged into months.

Each second passed is a
moment lost of myself.
My sanity fell long ago,
my essence joined soon after.
“I” am just barely living.

Someone tell me who I am,
for I have forgotten how to breathe.

"Drained" by Kelsey aka kelc on deviantart.com

30 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #70

  1. I adore this poem. The stanza beginning with “Feigning smiles…” is probably my favorite section – but the whole poem overall has such power it really stirs the emotions when you read it. I always find something to relate to in your poems which makes your words really hit home for me – thank you for always being so honest and sincere in your writing! <3

  2. You did a great job with the mood of this poem. “a sip or two of their poison
    is my guise of fitting in.” Brought to mind so many things, I could definitely relate. Keep up the good work!

  3. I love this line, ‘feigning smiles and cheery eyes to fool the fools around me’.
    I so relate and also the ‘guise to fit in’ is so right on. Good work.

  4. How painfully beautiful!
    It hurts to live your day without knowing where your life has gone. This reminds me of a friend I had who just felt numb and dead to the world all the time.
    This really spoke to me.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your friend, I hope they don’t feel that way now. I know what that feels like too, though I dont feel numb now, I used to way back when – it’s a hard feeling to overcome.
      Thank you for your comment and stopping by :)

  5. I love your voice in this! Everything really flows perfectly.
    Sometimes living on emptiness is the best way to figure out what stuff you should be filling your life with and what stuff is better left far away.
    I look forward to coming back and reading more!

    • I never thought of it that way, but it’s a nice positive spin on a negative feeling, and it’s actually a really constructive way to think about it. I’ll have to keep that in mind when I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed next time :) Thanks!

    • No, I’m not – that’s just what came out of my head that day. I was probably in a muggy mood though, but that happens from time to time. Mostly though, I can’t complain :)

      Thank you for your comment! :)

  6. The poem is great and a chance to read another Cherlyn movie review is great as well. If I had to guess which movie you are going to see I would say Real Steel. I’ll see later on if I am right.

    • Thank you Tom :) And I think I spoiled your guess in my email to you, but oh well. I do want to see Real Steel aka Rockem Sockem Robots the movie though, so maybe I’ll do that as well :)

    • Yeah its kind of a depressing thought – I wasn’t in a good mood that day when I wrote it. Sometimes it’s hard to stay optimistic, or at least mildly positive. Thank you for the compliments!

Leave a Reply

