Versatile Blogger Award

Earlier last week, Jamie from Musing by Moonlight awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award!  Thank you very much Jamie, and I apologize for the delay in my post, I’ve been a busy, busy bee last week.  Not that I won’t be this week, but alas, I’m trying to make more of an effort with my blog.  I’ll just stop sleeping, live off of coffee – wait, that’s what I already do.  Nevermind, need another plan.

For this award I’m supposed to give seven facts about myself and then pass the award onto other bloggers (however, I’m not entirely sure how many to be exact, so I’ll just wing that part).  As for my seven facts:

  1. Currently at the moment I work at both a bookstore and a coffee shop (I’d rather not mention the store names just incase I get in troubles from those pesky boss peoples).
  2. What I really want to do with my career is be a Food and Nutrition Manager either at a Long Term Care Facility or one of the larger hospitals in my area.  It’s a competitive field mostly because when you get into that position, you generally don’t leave, so I haven’t had much luck.  Which is why….
  3. I’m going back to school in January to help supplement the education I already have.  I’ll be taking Medical Office Administration, which will expand my qualifications, and hopefully allow me to get another position in the hospital.  Hurray for stepping stones!
  4. I like to claim that I have 9 fictional husbands, who are: Obi-Wan Kenobi (Star Wars), Severus Snape (Harry Potter), Gil Grissom (CSI), Jack Bauer (24), Jack Traven (Speed), Jack Sparrow (Pirates of the Caribbean – a drunken marriage), John Sheridan (Babylon 5), G’kar (Babylon 5), and Josh Groban.  Now, I’m not entirely insane (though, I’ll admit, I am quite mad), but this all started during college with my good friend and former roommate, Saber.  I believe this occurred before the Bruce Willis picture in our bathroom, though I could be completely mistaken.
  5. If I were to say I had a favourite movie, it’d be a tie between The Color Purple and The Usual Suspects.  Both are amazing movies, but they are so different, it really all depends on what mood I’m in.
  6. I’ve been trying to cut back on my coffee intake. *Gasp!*  I know, I know, shocking.  However, as much as I love my dark mistress, I’ve been drinking far too much as of late, and would like to try to stay hydrated.
  7. I have two recurring themes in my nightmares (actually as of late, three recurring themes).  It’s strange, but whenever I have a nightmare, there is almost always a tornado, or the bathroom light won’t turn on.  I’m not sure why the second one.  My latest weird theme is bugs.  Mostly because the bugs have been out to get me *shakes fist*.

Now for my nominations.  I’m not sure how many I’m supposed to be doing, so I’m going to do 7.  Why?  Because I feel like it.  The first four are blogs I try to keep up with as much as possible (besides Jamie’s of course, who just won an award herself), and the other three are blogs I’ve just recently discovered through the Thursday Poets Rally.  Other than that, these are in no particular order.

Judy Marie Santiago (exCommunicado) - an extremely talented writer, and that’s all there is to it.  She’s definitely going to go far with her talent too.  I love reading both her fictional works, as well as posts that are personal, she really knows how to keep a reader interested.

Blaga Todorova (Broken Sparkles) – one of the first bloggers I ever followed, who has really grown and developed as a writer and poet.  She has such an amazing talent, especially in an area I’m so-so on: Imagery.  Holy painting pictures in my mind, Batman!  She’s absolutely wonderful, and I love her blog.

Saber Hodson (What’s Up With That?!?) - I’m nominated my friend who’s been on a sort-of hiatus in hopes she’ll have some free time in the future to keep posting.  Saber has a very quirky sense of humor, and I always get a big smile on my face from her posts. 

Tom Baker (Morning Erection) – Probably the blogger who helped me branch out the most, and come out of my blogging shell.  He’s back from a small break and already starting to gain his regular posting momentum.  He’s got a wide variety of posts, so there’s a little something for everyone.

Ruth Ligget (Disjointed Rhymings) - First off, I apologize if that is not your real name, or if you do not wish it used (I found it from your Twitter account).  I absolutely adore the poems on this blog, they’re very honest to me – they don’t really feel forced, as though they were just pulled out of the author’s heart.  I really hope more people check it out, and encourage more posts, so that way they can continue to grow and develop their skill.  I’m looking forward to each new post!

“John E. Wordslinger” (Nudged Sketches of Flighty Things) - I love the alias by the way, sounds like a poet with a gun or something.  Makes me think of like an old west cowboy or like a Dirty Harry sort of thing.  Love it!  The poetry from this author is absolutely amazing, it makes my poetry feel insecure and want to eat a pizza.  I have yet to read a poem that is only “just good”, they are all absolutely fantastic, and I hope that one day my craft will be half as good as his. 

“Just Sayin’” (coffee. 1 cream) - Again, not sure what the author’s actual name is, but that’s ok.  What I really enjoy about the poems on this blog is taht they are often free-verse, which is a style some pretentious author’s sneer at.  However, I enjoy free-verse because it feels natural, it feels real, and it can be more expressive than a very structure poem sometimes.  The poems on this site have an ease about them, effortless almost.  There is some absolutely amazing work on this site, check it out!

I suppose if you’ve already won this award, there’s probably no need to accept it again, but those are my nominations.  Thank you again Jamie for the award!

18 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | Disjointed Rhymings

  2. Wow! I’m so pleased to learn more about you, Charlyn. (Okay, you’ll have to compete with me for Jack Sparrow. Don’t worry. You’re “competing” with an old lady!) Thank you for accepting the award and presenting such a fine line-up of talent. You probably already know I’m a big Blaga fan. The others I don’t know, but I will check out when I can.

    Life has been crazy but – HOORAY! – I’m finally back on the road (so to speak) and love getting to catch up with you here. Have enjoy your tidbits now and again on FB. I think I check it out everyday, but you’re not on as often.

    I used to manage a bookstore with a coffee shop (ahem) – you probably know who – and I know the gig. Grueling! I’m always grateful for whatever work I can get, but that is one tough-on-the-body job. Keeping you in my prayers. Please God, a career position for Cherlyn!

    Big hugs from you friend in California.

    Jamie

      • No worries about the ‘a’! And you can compete with me for Jack Sparrow all you want, I’m used to competition for all my hubbies haha.

        Thank you again for giving me the award :) It means a lot to me!

        I know, havent been on Facebook much lately – just been so tired, all I’ve been doing is sleeping and running around, then sleeping again.

        Indeed – the bookstore gig is tiring. I’m getting fed up with it, but I suppose it’s only for a little bit longer!

        Big hugs back from your Canadian friend!

        Cherlyn

  3. Wow, I can’t believe you really put me on the list! Awww thanks Cherlyn! This day has been full of problems and sadness and disappointments but this post washed them all away! I love it! Thank you so much for supporting me and my blog. I really really really appreciate it! You really deserve the award, Cherlyn! Thanks!

  4. This award means a lot dear Cherlyn! Thank you for the great words about me :) Are you sure you were talking about my blog?/lol/ I’m grateful to have met you and to have formed a friendship with such a special person as you! Remain always a beautiful soul as you are now!

  5. Thank you Cherlyn! I can’t say that I deserve this award for the blog itself but my posting schedule is most certainly versatile! I’m going to add this to my About page I think. Gracias, mi amiga.

Leave a Reply

