Autumn’s Favourite

This challenge is by Blaga from Broken Sparkles.  The challenge can be found here, and I’ll do my best to follow the guidelines!

Autumn

Vibrant greens losing life,
falling to the cooling ground
in shades of orange, yellow and red.
Never mourning, never lamenting
the inevitability of the fall.
A reflection of seasons past,
a minuet of reminiscing,
a slow hum of acceptance -
it is time to move on
.
The tock to Spring’s tick,
the cadence to Summer’s symphony,
the prologue to Winter’s beginning:
the lonely season of Autumn.

Autumn is absolutely my favourite season of the year.  Some people in the world never get to experience the beauty of the changing leaves, the quiet fall before winter.  Though many love purely for its beauty alone, I adore autumn for how it makes me feel.  I have always thought the passing of life from the leaves and plants this season as a time of reflection, to look back on the pains and woes of the previous seasons with more clarity, understanding and wisdom.  With Spring I may have been going through changes, and becoming something new, and it is a complicated time to really understand with much understanding.  Summer to me is about chaos and drama, it’s exciting and it makes my heartbeat, but with the excitement often comes a lot of pain, and it clouds my judgement a lot of the time.  Autumn always brings an acceptance of what has passed; a calm reflection of the things that have happened with a more knowledgeable, mature and experienced outlook.  This season for me is a time of needed loneliness; I am one of those odd creatures that needs to be alone from time to time.  I feel suffocated when I’m near too many people, and during this month of reflection, what better time to take some quiet moments for myself and reminisce. 

Autumn to me is about accepting the inevitable: what happened has happened, there is no changing it.  Accept it for what it is and continue to move and let go.  And what is autumn but letting go?  Autumn is the season of passing on, the inevitable end to everything: death.  A sad and disturbing thought indeed, but even when thinking about just a moment of pain or a bad time in your life, there is always a comfort that eventually there is an end, and life will move on. 

Favourite Word of Autumn
Inevitable
–adjective
1. unable to be avoided, evaded, or escaped; certain; necessary: an inevitable conclusion.
2. sure to occur, happen, or come; unalterable: The inevitable end of human life is death.
–noun
3. that which is unavoidable.

I don’t believe in fate or destiny, but of course I do believe in inevitability.  There are some things that are inevitable, like the changing of the seasons, or the end of life.  For some strange, slightly morbid reason, this gives me comfort.  It also gives me guidance for how to live my life.  Some things must inevitably end, and during the season of much reminiscence, I find direction for my negative feelings and worries: they too must inevitably pass on, so life can continue.

 Favourite Quote of Autumn
Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.  ~Stanley Horowitz

Favourite Poem of Autumn
Alone by Edgar Allan Poe
From childhood’s hour I have not been
As others were; I have not seen
As others saw; I could not bring
My passions from a common spring.
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow; I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone;
And all I loved, I loved alone.
Then- in my childhood, in the dawn
Of a most stormy life- was drawn
From every depth of good and ill
The mystery which binds me still:
From the torrent, or the fountain,
From the red cliff of the mountain,
From the sun that round me rolled
In its autumn tint of gold,
From the lightning in the sky
As it passed me flying by,
From the thunder and the storm,
And the cloud that took the form
(When the rest of Heaven was blue)
Of a demon in my view.
 
Favourite Song of Autumn
November Rain - Guns N’ Roses

Favourite Movie of Autumn
What Dreams May Come
This film is about the afterlife, so what better film to pick for my favourite of this season than one that is about the inevitability of death.  It is a beautiful film, and while the premise of the film is mostly why I picked it, I also picked it because the colour palette of the film just reminds me of autumn. 

Favourite Book of Autumn
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix - By J.K. Rowling
Ok, a weird book to put on my list of autumn favourites.  Yes – I am a Harry Potter fan.  I have a lot of friends who don’t like this one as much as the other books, for me however, this is one of my top favourites.  I really like dark, a bit depressing stories, and this is the first Harry Potter novel that didn’t just dance around the darker stories, it totally waltzed with it.  I loved it for that.  Harry was all angsty and really unsure of how to deal with what was going on with his life – and really, who can blame him?  To me, this book was about Harry starting to come to terms with the inevitable: the fact that he would have to confront Voldemort.  It was about reflection, about being alone, and how to deal with it.  That’s why this book is my favourite for autumn.

Favourite Town of Autumn
The lack of travelling really makes these questions hard to answer.  I suppose my favourite for town for autumn would be Montreal, Quebec.  Montreal is a gorgeous city to begin with, but I can only imagine how it looks in autumn.  As for a favourite place I’d like to visit is San Francisco, but mostly just Alcatraz Island.  For me, another reason I love autumn is that I love horror films, I love haunted houses and haunted walks, and I love ghost stories.  Sure, they scare the crap out of me, but it’s just something I really enjoy at the same time.  I’d love to have the opportunity to visit Alcatraz Island, as it is supposedly one of the most haunted places in the world.

Favourite Animal of Autumn
Canadian GooseThey start to migrate away from my home in Autumn, of course the fall makes me think of them. 

Favourite Food of Spring
Creepy Witches Fingers
As I already mentioned, autumn makes me think of horror films, and of course Hallowe’en.  My mom used to make these when I was a kid around Hallowe’en, and they are still a favourite of mine.

1 cup (250 mL) butter, softened
1 cup (250 mL) icing sugar
1 egg
1 tsp (5 mL) almond extract
1 tsp (5 mL) vanilla
2-3/4 cups (675 mL) all-purpose flour
1 tsp (5 mL) baking powder
1 tsp (5 mL) salt
3/4 cup (175 mL) whole blanched almonds
1 (19 g) tube red decorator gel, (blood for fingers)

In bowl, beat together butter, sugar, egg, almond extract and vanilla; beat in flour, baking powder and salt. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Working with one quarter of the dough at a time and keeping remaining dough refrigerated, roll heaping teaspoonful (5 mL) of dough into finger shape for each cookie.

Press almond firmly into end for nail. Squeeze in centre to create knuckle shape; using paring knife, make slashes in several places to form knuckle.

Place on lightly greased baking sheets; bake in 325°F (160°C) oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until pale golden. Let cool for 3 minutes. Lift up almond; squeeze red decorator gel onto nail bed and press almond back into place, so gel oozes out from underneath. Remove from baking sheets; let cool on racks. Repeat with remaining dough.

Favourite Image of Autumn
Well to continue with the trend of the other two posts, another one of Saber’s fabulous photos!

Leaf - Saber/Last Shadow Photography

25 thoughts on “Autumn’s Favourite

  1. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

  2. OOPS! Also meant to add that I love how you think about the month, and how you have expressed it on your blog. I have never really thought to stop and think of Autumn that way before :D

  3. I think Autumn might be my fav. season too! The colours are beautiful, the weather is perfect for cardigans or sweaters, haha, which I love and I think I just love the start of the year. Everything starts again, starts over for me in september, I guess because I always associate it with the beginning of school; but more than that it feels like the beginning of a new year, that it doesn’t start in January, but rather the fall. I rambled a bit there so hopefully it made sense!

    • Yes, I love wearing layers too, c’monnn cardigans! I know how you feel about the new year, january just doesnt seem like a “new beginning for me”.

  4. That such an amazing description of Autumn. I never thought about it being a time of calm and reflection but you are so right! I love all your picks. November Rain…one of my all time favorites!! The fingers are awesome! I need to serve a plate of those to the kids near Halloween.

    BTW your comments have had me laughing! The Brad Pitt eye candy comment – I soooo agree that was my oversight. *bangs head on wall*…a missed opportunity :)

    Aaa. you have the reverse commenting system in place too which always catches me off guard since it doesn’t go in the standard order of name, email, website and makes me have to think. :) Luckily I have the reflexes of a ninja and saw it.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post :) I hope if you try the cookies you enjoy them, they’re pretty tasty as well as creepy looking.

      Haha, I guess for your next heist you’ll have to remember Brad Pitt then ;)

      I didn’t realize my site had the reverse order, aha, I’m tricky that way!

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  5. A lovely post with lots of reflection and thoughts to ponder … thanks for sharing this !
    I also love autumn and am so fortunate in that we experience an extremely warm rather than a cool autumn … the humid summer conditions overlap into the earlier part of the season and by the time autumn ends , the weather is only beginning to cool down !
    I have just posted my first post for this challenge at : http://writer-in-transit.co.za/seasonss-favorite-blogging-challenge-autumn-2/

  6. Oh lovely poem on Autumn. And I like this post, it seems you enjoy it very much on writing this. It’s interesting to lists other favourite things related to Auntumn.

    Nice post… :)

  7. Aw too bad I’m one of those who do not experience this season. Yes, leaves fall here but winter doesn’t come afterwards and fallen leaves all seem like dirt in the road, hahaha. Oh and so you’re also an HP fan?! Me too! Have you watched the final movie? Me not yet. But I’m looking forward. :D Thanks for dropping by my blog Cherlyn, I appreciate it a lot. :)

    • Yeah I guess if you dont have the three feet of snow to cover the leaves, I guess fall seems kind of dirty and annoying haha. I am such a HP fan! I haven’t seen the newest film yet though, I’m hoping to go Friday though, can’t wait!

      Thanks for stopping by as well :)

  8. Wow Cherlyn! Lovely collection! Where do I start from? Great opening with the poem, journey of colors and different shades of the year! I like how you explained your favorite word! Indeed inevitable is the coming of autumn!

    I have to confess I haven’t read Harry Potter or seen the movies, I have all books at home/someone gave them to me as a birthday present/ but I somehow always look at them and just leave them. But I do that with famous books and movies, I always wait for the fame to fade away and then get into it.

    The fingers were creepy, creepy, but the image certainly catches the eyes and has the effect!

    And of course, Saber’s image … tuned right into the theme! Thanks for this delight Cherlyn!

      • I’m very happy that you liked my poem at the beginning, I wasn’t too sure about it, but thought I’d post it anyways.

        As for the books, I can understand that. I got into the Harry Potter when they weren’t too famous, they were popular sure, but they weren’t as insane as they were now. I get like that with popular series too, it took me a few years to sit down to read the Da Vinci Code too. I hope whenever you get around to reading them, you enjoy them :)

        Yeah, the fingers are a bit creepy, but they’re tasty haha.

        Thank you again, and thanks for stopping by! :)

  9. Oh I absolutely agree with you that Autumn is the best season! You listed some awesome things here! I am a Harry Potter fan, too, and I can see the wisdom in choosing that book for Fall – the phoenix, after all, is all about death and rebirth. :) Thank you so much for posting the recipe and picture! I definitely *have* to try it. “What Dreams May Come” is a wonderful movie (love Robin Williams and Cuba Gooding, Jr.!) and you used one of my favorite poets for your poem. This post is chock full of some of the things which are best about fall. Thanks for sharing with all of us. :)

    • I hope you enjoy the recipe, if you like shortbread kind of cookies, you’ll enjoy this I think. I’m glad you enjoyed my picks, I’m happy to know some other people like the stuff that I do :)

    • Nice! Be forewarned that the first few aren’t really dark at all, but they are fun reads, and they actually have a good story – so don’t be put-off right away if you feel like they’re too “kiddy”, they grow up as the characters do :) I hope if you check them out, you enjoy them, but if not, well I guess it’s not for everyone! :)

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  10. I so enjoyed you autumn reflections and the choices you made…although the fingers are a bit creepy but fun! I think you really summed the season up in “inevitable.” Thanks for sharing.

    • I guess they are a bit creepy, but I guess I like creepy haha. If you ever see them up close you’ll see they look very little like real fingers, which I guess is a good thing. Thanks for stopping by :)

Leave a Reply

