Poetry Thursday #48

Another Thursday of the poetic variety, huzzah!  I hope everyone had a great week last week, I can’t complain too much.  But I do have to say, I really need to stop playing the Sims 3 so much.  It has definitely made me realize how unproductive it makes me.  If you have never played the Sims 3 (especially World Adventures), then good for you because it is highly addictive.  I’m sure even if I get out of my Sims 3 craze, once Portal 2 comes out I’ll be even more unproductive and I’ll be back at square one.  I suppose I could just not play video games anymore, but that would be too easy – and definitely  not as fun.  Plus it makes a somewhat plausible excuse as to why I haven’t done something.  If I stop playing video games, then I’ll have no one to blame for not doing anything all day but myself, and yeah, I don’t wanna do that. 

Hmm, that was an odd tangent to go off on, sorry about that.

Anyways, I’m still trying to catch up on everyone’s blogs.  Some people’s I really need to catch up with, sorry!  So if anyone out there has a time turner or a time-travelling DeLorean that I could borrow, I can get caught up quicker (well really it’ll take me the same time, but to all of you it’ll be quicker because the space-time thingy).  Or, if someone has like a watch or a remote that can stop time, I can be done by the time you finish reading this sentence.  Also, it would give me much more time to play my Sims 3 game.  So yeah, if you got one, I’d definitely appreciate you letting me borrow that. 

That’s a fair amount of rambling from me today, on with the poem! 

The Tempest
I have seen the storm
raging on when I close
my eyes.  I have been
through the floods that pass
through the deepest depths
of my dreams.  I am
lost – drowning in my own
thoughts and doubts.  Doubting I
can swim to the shores
that will embrace me as
I am.  I can feel
the thunder – booming, echoing in
my heart.  Shaking, quaking, as
the tremors of my soul
try to move me, make
me feel.  I can only
feel the drowning, the water
plunging through my lungs – and
as I die within the waters
of my own self doubt,
I can see the power
and the strength of the
tempest inside myself, my soul;
I have seen the storm.

"Tempest" by E-T on deviantart.com

5 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #48

  1. OK first of all I can’t wait to get my game so I can join the obsession! and second I loved the poem, very powerful! it had such beautiful strength, really struck a chord with me:)

    Awesome post!

  2. So great to have another Thursday from you with a poem, which by the way felt really deep! To me it sounded like when you go through amount of stuff, on the end even troubles and nearly drowned, there is still something positive, the fact that you’ve learned how far your strength can go! Loved the image too! Happy day Cherlyn!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! Most of the time I write something and scrap it, but I actually enjoyed this one lol. Thanks for stopping by! Happy day to you as well!

  3. Okay, love the title. haha. me and titles, I don’t know what it is with me and titles. I also love how this poem has been sturctured, where you decide to end lines, and start anew, it added a whole nother dimension to the reading of the poem for me. It was chalk full very powerful images. I always love the image at the end, because I always seem to see something like it when I read your words.

Leave a Reply

