Top 10 Favourite Internet Personalities

I decided to dust off my blog, and rummage through half-finished projects, and be productive for once.  I have been extremely determined to finish this Top 10 List, despite all that’s gone on these past few months.  My good computer died, and then I was using my evil laptop Charlie.  Plus I’ve also been sick lately, which has been a hindrance.  And then of course I took a little blogging vacation.  But I’d rather shave my tongue, run through my neighbourhood in nothing but a sparkly tutu whilst singing “Baby” by Justin Bieber, than let any minor hindrance prevent me from finishing this post. 

*Note – I actually had to look up what songs were by Justin Bieber.  Suffice it to say: I am not a fan.

I was at a loss as to what to do for my next Top 10 list, so to procrastinate I started to watch my favourite internet videos, catch up on blogs I’ve missed and such.  Then it hit me, I should share my Top 10 Favourite Internet Personalities with everyone, because they’re fun, entertaining, and they’re awesome.  I’m so smart – I’m amazed by my awesomeness.  Don’t worry, Ill punish myself for my arrogance later. 

So without further delay, here are my Top 10 Favourite Internet Personalities!

10. Jake Jarvi – Pineappleboy Films

Out of all the people on my list, this guy is probably the one that is least known, which really is a shame because he’s awesome.  Jake Jarvi is a filmmaker, and I was first introduced to his channel by Wheezy Waiter, who was in Jake’s youtube series entitled Platoon of Power Squadron.  Since the third episode, Jake has been doing a weekly update, telling us about how he makes films, the writing process, and occasionally doing interviews.  I just really enjoy watching his channel because I find filmmaking interesting, and I thoroughly enjoy his quirkiness.  I hope that his channel starts getting more subscribers, and he starts to become more noticed, because I believe there’s a lot of talent there.
Platoon of Power Squadron Episode 1: Part 1.

9. David Wong – Cracked.com

It says on his info page on cracked.com that his real name is Jason Pargin.  I’m not entirely sure if that is true or not, but I know him as David Wong, and he has written some of the funniest articles on one of my favourite websites.  This website seriously wastes more of my time than youtube (which is a real feat).  I suppose I had to pick him out of all the amazing writers from this website because he’s the senior editor, and he’s written probably the most articles on the site.  If you’ve never taken a gander at Cracked.com, I strongly suggest you do, you find out some interesting things there, and its a really great way to spend your time.
Some of his articles: 5 Creepy Ways Video Games Are Trying to Get You Addicted, 5 Horror Novels That Will Shrivel Your Balls this  Year, 5 Things You Think Will Make You Happy (But Won’t).

8. Lewis Lovhaug – Linkara

First off, I’d like to state that I’m not a comic book fan.  I’m not anti-comic book or anything like that, I’ve just never gotten into comic books.  I know the characters that are famous decently because of films and other mediums, but when it comes to comic books, it’s all over my head.  Despite that, I really enjoy Linkara’s reviews of terrible comic books.  His narrative gives a funny explanation of how bad this comic is, while still having valid points to make.  He doesn’t just say “Oh gee, this is stupid”, instead he gives a very good analysis of the comic, based on some topics such as the overall story or the art.  I’ve also become a huge fan of his series The History of Power Rangers.  I admit, I used to love Power Rangers as a kid, so this was just really interesting and kind of nostalgic.  I also love how Linkara shies away from using profanity in his films – and though I’m not stranger to profanity, it is really refreshing.  He has a kind of etiquette that most internet personalities don’t have.  And like some of his internet colleagues that he often collaborates with, he has a number of different characters.  My personal favourite is 90s Kid.
Some of my favourite Linkara videos are: History of Power Rangers – Mighty Morphin’ Season 1, Ultimates 3 #1 and 2, Cable #1.

7. Lindsay Ellis – Nostalgia Chick/Antonella Inserra – Nella

I admit, this whole list is basically a sausage fest.  However, the Nostalgia Chick is definitely my favourite Internet Personality out there.  She reviews nostalgic films that are more catered towards girls.  She won a contest for ThatGuyWiththeGlasses.com, and is now basically his female counterpart.  I really enjoy her dry sense of humour, and like Linkara, the points she makes in her videos are well thought out and intelligent.  In her films she often has her friend Nella guest star.  I adore Nella = she reminds me of me actually.  The interaction between these two friends reminds me of how Saber and I interact.  They play off each other, they make jibes at each other in a playful fashion, that if you don’t know they’re joking, you may get offended.  Obviously this kind of sense of humour works for them because they are still making videos together.  I just really enjoy the dynamic between these two. 
Some great reviews to check out: My Little Pony, Armageddon Part 1 and Part 2, DragonheartShowgirls Begins, Showgirls The Revenge.

6. Ben “Yahtzee” Croshaw – Zero Punctuation

Unlike a lot of the other people on my list, Ben “Yahtzee” Croshaw doesn’t appear in his videos.  He uses animated characters to represent what he’s talking about, which I find really works with how his reviews are set up.  Yahtzee posts video game review videos for the online magazine The Escapist.  Now, most of the games he reviews I haven’t played myself, but what I really adore about his videos is how fast he talks.  He’s got an English accent, a very sarcastic sense humour, mixed with impeccable vocabulary and an extremely fast paced, never-ending rant.  Often I’m amazed that he can just keep talking and talking without skipping a beat, and sometimes I have to watch the video twice just to get all the points he’s making or to hear all the jokes that I may have missed the first time.  Even if you don’t like video games, I’d suggest watching one of his videos just to experience his unique style, it’s really quite entertaining.
My favourite reviews of his: Psychonauts, Guitar Hero III, Super Paper Mario, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed, Sonic Unleashed, Duke Nukem Forever, Bayonetta, Halo: Reach.

5. Brad Jones – Cinema Snob

This guy is just hilarious.  Absolutely, 100% my type of humour.  He’s sarcastic and a bit dark, and I find him so entertaining to watch, even when he’s not scripted.  He just seems like one of those guys that can totally keep a straight face while making an outrageous, dark themed joke.  Basically to me, he just seems really genuine, smooth, and cool.  He’s one of those guys you’d like to hang out with, or wish you could hang out with.  Out of everyone else on this list, I feel like he’s the least cartoony with his videos.  He doesn’t need to be dramatic, or to act silly or outrageous to make his videos interesting, he’s interesting enough as it is.  Plus he wears a suit, how awesome is that?
Some of my favourite videos: Piranha 3-D Review, Titanic II Review, Brad Tries Manson Family Cult-a-Cola, Brad Tries Edible Insects, Brad Tries Jones Soda Thanksgiving Pack.

Now this is the part in my top 10 where I had the most trouble.  The top 4 people are just so amazing, that I had a really hard time trying to rank them.  Like my favourite movies, it all really depends on my mood.  But with some very hard consideration, I think the rankings work – but keep in mind that they could easily fit into any order.

4. Toby Turner – Tobuscus

I started to watch Toby Turner because of Phillip Defranco aka sxephil from youtube, whom I used to watch every day.  One of Philly D’s channels is LikeTotallyAwesome, and this is where I was introduced to Toby Turner, who did gaming and other media news updates.  Toby Turner is very much the opposite of Brad Jones – he can be very cartoony, he’s extremely expressive, and a little bit of a spaz at times.  He puts a lot of effort into his Tobuscus videos, but he makes it seem easy.  It really looks like he just says whatever comes to his mind, and throws it in, and it works.  His videos range from funny videos about Facebook games, to the new series Cute Win Fail.  I thought when I started watching him that he was putting on a bit of a show, that he was just acting that way for the camera.  But his two other channels, TobyGames and TobyTurner proved my theory wrong.  His lazyvlogs show that he really is just a hilarious guy, who randomly goes into freestyle raps about anything, who walks down the street everyday talking to his eye phone about nothing in particular.  I can’t explain how funny he is until you watch him just basically talking to himself.  I used to watch Toby Sucks at Halo Reach, where he films himself playing Halo Reach and shows how awful he is, while giving a hilarious commentary.  I only stopped because I got too busy to keep up with how often he put up a video.  If you have the time, I’d really recommend watching one of the videos from this series, I have honestly never had more fun watching someone else play a video game.  Toby Turner is awesome, what else can I say?
Some awesome Tobuscus videos to check out: Trapped in a Vlog, Literal Twilight Eclipse Trailer, Literal Tron Trailer, Cute Win Fail #1 – Show Me Your Ding Ding, Eight O’Clock Coffee Day 1 and Day 2.

3. Noah Antwiler – The Spoony One

If I had to pick someone from my list that I had an internet crush on, it would be a tie between Toby Turner and Spoony.  I adore Spoony’s videos – he ranges from bad movie reviews, to video game reviews, to sketches, to his daily vlogs.  I find all of them really entertaining – he always brings some form of unbridled anger to most of his reviews, anger that is more rageful and pissed off than cartoony, like some of the other people on my list.  He reminds me of me when I watch a bad movie, because sometimes I end up screaming at the screen too.  Like others on this list, Spoony also has a number of different characters, but most famous of those would be Dr. Insano.  If you couldn’t tell by the name, he’s an insane doctor.  I really enjoy Dr. Insano’s shrill, whiny, spastic tone of voice, and just how insane he is.  What I also really enjoy about Spoony is that when he’s reviewing something, he gives a detailed explanation as to why he does or doesn’t like – it just shows he puts a lot of thought into every review he makes, and though sometimes I don’t agree with him, it’s hard to not be swayed by his opinion.  His vlogs are really interesting to watch, because he’s being himself, rather than the played up version of himself in his review videos.  He seems like a genuinely nice, funny guy, and I don’t know about the rest of you, but I like nice guys – they always finish first in my books (or in this case, very close to first).
Here are some of my favourite Spoony One videos:
Movie reviews: Rebruary – CAGE, Mazes and Monsters, Highlander 2 – The Quickening Part 1 and Part 2, Santa with Muscles.
Game reviews: Final Fantasy VIII part 1, Dirty Harry: The War Against Drugs (NES), Highlander – The Last of the MacLeod’s, Ultima 1, Lets Play SWAT 4 – Mission #1.
FMV Hell: Johnny Mnemonic, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Sewer Shark.

2. Craig Benzine – Wheezy Waiter

I’ve been trying to remember when and why I started to watch Wheezy Waiter.  I believe it was the summer of 2009 when I started watching him, around when I just moved into my first apartment, was still trying to find a job, and basically had nothing to do.  When I discovered his video randomly, I spent a good few days watching all 300-so videos on his channel (as of right now he’s over 477 videos).  Out of all the people on my list, I’m certain that Wheezy Waiter has the most inside jokes than any of them, ranging from: the sky bank, the whale tank, his clones, the alligator pit, breathing, the coffee being done, his hot dog suit, the thought microphone, his nemesis the eagle, Ty the Regular guy, and hand stands.  There are many more, but those are the ones I could think of just off the top of my head.  His style ranges from informative, to musical, to outright silly.  He knows how to balance his videos, and I know I can say for sure that I have never be bored watching his videos.  I had a very hard time not putting him on number 1, because he is just so entertaining, and my days always start out a bit better when I see a new Wheezy Waiter video pop up in my subscription box.  I’m a beard lover, and proud of it!
Some of my favourite Wheezy Waiter Videos: Every Wheezy Waiter Video Ever Made, The Trophy Thief, Neti PotsBreakfast #5: Flock of Bagels, Balance, Ba(n)d Practice, Legends of Anarchy (Driftless Pony Club Music Video), Tour de Beard #1, Tour de Beard #2: Omaha, State of the Beard, Life Off, H2 Uh Oh, Whale MunchiesCraig vs Canada, National Coffee Day?, Clones Lasers and Antimatter Oh My! , The Spy Who Drugged Me, Beards on the Run #1 – I Quit.

1. Doug Walker – That Guy With the Glasses

I’ve been a huge fan of Doug Walker for a few years now, and I have to say, his videos are something I look forward to every week.  Maybe that’s sad and sort of pathetic, but you gotta take the little joys in life where you can.  Doug definitely is no mere little joy though, he is definitely a very giving entertainer.  The first video I ever saw of his was a sketch video he did, going along with a the impersonation meme that seemed to hit the internet (especially youtube) for a while.  Being intrigued, I found my way to his website, and was opened up to a new awesome world of awesomeness.  Like others on my list, he has different characters as well.  My favourite being the Nostalgia Critic, where he looks at nostalgic films from childhood, and finding they aren’t as great as he remembered.  I love these videos, they can be so bitter and angry, but are extremely cartoony at times.  Doug says he gets some of his inspiration from Daffy Duck, and I can totally see that – he definitely works the cartoony rage well.  Another character of his is That Guy With the Glasses, where he plays a version of “himself”, where he is evil, smug, arrogant, perverted, and psychotic.  These videos are just so dark, I can’t help but love them.  This character gets asked weird questions and he answers them, and though it sounds like a simple concept, his answers are far from simple; they often range from nonsensical to completely deranged.  He also has a character named Chester A. Bum, who reviews current films.  And like his name, he is a bum, who is impressed by nearly everything, claiming that every film is the “Greatest movie I’ve ever seen in my life!”.  His final character is Dominic, who is in the newer series Video Game Confessions, where he plays a bartender at a fictitious bar in the Pixel Palace.  He retells stories of famous video game characters.  What I enjoy about this character is that the character is the straight man, and with this contrast to Doug’s normal characters, it gives room for the story to really come to life.  I’m a huge fan of all of his videos, and I think that he really has something for everyone to like.  He puts a lot of work into his videos, and I just really admire him.  I can tell he really respects his fans, but also does what he does not just for them, but because he loves it too.  I think proof of that would be the amazing 2 year anniversary film he made with the help of a bunch of his fellow reviewers (link to part 1 below).  I’m not ashamed to say that I actually bought the dvd to this either.  Though I had a hard time picking the order for this list, because I adore everyone on the list, I really do feel like Doug Walker deserves the number one spot on my list.  Here are a few of my favourite videos of his that I think at least some of you will enjoy:
Nostalgia Critic: Super Mario Bros – The Movie Review, Batman and Robin Review, Street Fighter & Mortal Kombat Review Part 1 and Part 2, Titanic the Animated MusicalAlone in the Dark (with The Spoony One and Linkara), Casper, The Room, IT.
2 Year Anniversary Special: Kickassia – Part 1.
Bum Reviews: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of Crystal Skull, The Dark Knight, Twilight, Watchmen, Star Trek.
Ask That Guy With the Glasses: Episode 1.  Seriously, just watch the first episode, they only get more crazy from here.
Video Game Confessions: Mario, Pac-Man, Duke Nukem, Chell from Portal.

And yes, that is indeed him dressed up as Bison from Street Fighter. Awesome.

So there you have it, my Top 10 list that I’ve been promising for far too long.  It’s finally here, and I hope you all enjoyed it!


12 thoughts on “Top 10 Favourite Internet Personalities

  1. I can’t believe how long it’s taken me to finally read this (SORRY!!) but I’m here now!
    I really liked this list cause I know this is somthing that you love. I have always meant to watch the videos from these guys but never seem to manage to find time for more than a couple videos. I will have to come back to this post and check them all out!

  2. I knew none of them. I have to go see Toby’s Halo Reach videos because I’m terrible too and can probably relate.

  3. Ah, just popped back in to see if I missed any new posts. Thanks for your visit – you always cheer me. I think that’s one of your many gifts. Enjoyed your comments. Love the Matallica recommendation.

  4. I better not catch sing “Baby” by Justin-I-need-to-get-new-personality-and-all-Bieber!!! lol It’s such a delight to read another post by you, though I know nobody from your list and some of the things I hear about for a first time, it’s a huge pleasure to see you with another post! It was a top 10 list absolutely educating for me, as it was all new info! Thanks for that Cherlyn!

    • Lol trust me, I’ll never be singing any of Bieber’s songs – I can’t stand them lol. I’m glad you enjoyed my list, I realized it would be one of those topics that most people would be like “abuhh?” but I couldn’t help doing it. I think there are a few people on here that you would enjoy watching :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Great top 10! I couldn’t watch the videos where I am at *shakes fist at computer* but I definitely want to look into some of the ppl I haven’t seen, especially Ben “Yahtzee” Croshaw – he sounds super interesting.

    Love the top 10! I think they are my fav. things, tied with everything else, ahha.

  6. Hooray! Cheery Cherylin is back in the blogospher! Horray!
    Sorry for all the life complications. Hope you feel better. Seems you’ve found your way through the trials. Bless you.

    Great list here … none of whom I think you would guess – I’d know w/o you! :-)

    Big hugs and Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

