Poetry Thursday #35

Before I jump right in with the poems for this week, I did want to mention that I will be participating in the Community Networking Meme, started by Tom Baker from Morning Erection.  I was going to post the rules of participation, but just click the link to see them directly at Tom’s site – it’s just easier this way!  I think it’s going to be a great post, and it will be going up December 12th at 00:01 – so definitely mark your calendars for that date and stop by!  I will be posting the Master Meme List on my blog sometime within the next few days and will be continuously updating it, but until then, click on the link to check out who’s going to be participating as well. 

By the way, I hope that all made some sense, I’m finishing up this post at around 11pm on Wednesday, and I probably should be going to bed soon considering I have to be up at 3:30am for work tomorrow.  So if it makes no sense, it’s because I’m tired, and feeling the after jitters of all my coffee.  Why would I get so many caffeinated beverages that late at night, you ask?  Well, 1)I will never turn down caffeinated beverages, 2)I wanted to spend some time with my best bud Ryan, 3)I’m not a pussy, and 4)there was lots of cute coffee boys Wednesday night and I couldn’t help but to keep going up and ordering more drinks (I am only human after all).

Anyways, enough rambling!  On with the poetry!  Let me know you think and have a splendiforous day!

I Cannot Find Words When You’re Around
I am trapped within your smile,
captive to its trance -
feeling myself light up inside
each time you give me a glance.
And as I sputter incoherently
while shuffling my feet,
you laugh and smile all the same -
and my heart flutters with every beat.
I hope quietly inside my mind
that you can hear my soul -
it is calling out your name,
and I have lost control.

"From the Heart" by Saber Hodson aka midnightreflections on deviantart.com

Father Time
There was a man, old and wise;
He had no name.
His age is merely numbered lies,
and truth hides behind his eyes.
If he had a person to blame
for his inevitable fate,
he would shout and exclaim
we must wait
to play time’s game.

"Father Time" by Morgan aka X0icyblues on deviantart.com

9 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #35

  1. I loved them both as always, but my heart strings were pulled when I read the first one. It reminded me all to much of my one sided affair with Jeff (terra guy) this past summer.

    Father time was an interesting subject, he sounds so mysterious the way you talk about him. I suppose that time is a mysterious thing though.

  2. Cherlyn, that coffee you had yesterday gave you words of sweetness / smiles/ I really hope he could hear your soul, as the sound of it is beautiful. The two poems are very nice, but forgive me I love the first …

  3. First off loves spending time with you too!

    Loves them both. I am especially fond of the 1st one because I really fell into the moments the poem was depicting, and I felt myself there, it was really lovely. And the second one is great too, because its very mythological with the idea of father time and all, it creates a lovely sort of short synposis about the man.

    Wonderful as always. enjoy your day.

  4. Good morning Cherlyn. Another great Thursday of poems. I have “I Cannot Find Words When You’re Around” several times in my lifetime. I like how your words describe my puppy loves and my infatuations and my real one way love affairs. I can still remember the heart flutters. Then it was all too real when I found April!

    Father time is good as well. Time waits for no one! These are two wonderful works! Have a great day.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed them Tom :) I hope one day I’m lucky enough to have a two way love affair rather than the unrequited deal that I’m so accustomed to.

      Hope you have a great day as well :)

Leave a Reply

