Poetry Thursday #20

Hurray I actually was in the mood to write this week!  *Cheers from the audience* …Apparently today the voices in my head are louder; meh.  

Operation Pant Loss is coming along; I’ve had a bad couple of days, nothing too hard to handle; parents ordered pizza one night – and I tell you, Lugano’s Pizza in Burlington is by far the best pizza I’ve ever had, and I will not turn it down if offered to me.  Plus yesterday I was out all day with friends, ended up eating Chinese food at about 9pm (bad, bad, I know – nothing was open except for fast food – at least this way I got some vegetables).  But I have been exercising regularly, and have been conscious about what I’m eating!  I’m not doing as well as I could be [No, no, stop that, positive thinking!] So it’s not going bad at all!  Just need to keep at it! 

Anyways, two poems for this week, hope you enjoy!  Comment and let me know what you think!  I’m always open to constructive criticism.  

Hindrance
Don’t break my wings and then ask me to fly;
you force me down, but want me to reach the sky.
You tell me to speak but won’t let me reply -
don’t tell me you love but wish to see me cry.
Don’t force me to leave if you don’t want to say goodbye. 

"Let Me Go" by daimonia on deviantart.com

 

Rise of the Monster
In the darkness of my mind
there is a monster I keep confined.
Waiting behind its prison cell
until my defences it can quell –
then it and I will be combined.  

The darkness will take over me;
what once was whole will be debris.
Chaos will engulf my soul –
trying to fill what the monster stole.
All I am will cease to be.  

And if you look within my eyes
you can see beneath my guise;
The smile upon my face will show
the darkness hidden deep below.
This face of mine is filled with lies. 

"Monster" by GlitterShades on deviantart.com

7 thoughts on “Poetry Thursday #20

  1. I always find myself in a comtemplative mood after I read your poems…they have powerful emotions in them, and I begin to think of how I relate to the words you write…I really hope i make sense, as I am known for having non-sensical ramblings.

    • I’m glad to hear that my poems make contemplate things! That’s what I’m going for :) And that made sense (at least I think I understood it); we shall talk more this evening during our coffee journey!

  2. Both poems are great and there is little I can think of that’s better than a great slice of pizza.

    Reading both poems lead me to think you are either going through something, getting over something or just unhappy. Maybe I need to read some of your other poems before I make a judgment like that.

    I also think the first name choice for your blog would have been fine too. Can I add you to my blogroll for my friends and readers?

    • I agree – little is better than a slice of pizza, hmmm pizza.

      I think my poems are away for me to express any frustrations I may feel in a constructive way. I don’t think there’s too much going on now, but I suppose I’ve had some ups and downs in the past few years. Also, I’ve been finding that all things macabre and horrific have been drawing my attention lately – whether it be in photography, novels, poetry, or even just a scary movie – I guess it’s awakening my dark side! Generally I’m a very happy person (unless I don’t get my cup of coffee that is haha).

      Yeah, the name of my blog was always a flip-flop decision – couldn’t ever find one that I loved 100%, but I suppose I’m happy with the choice I made.

      Of course you can add me to your blogroll :)! I have to say, after having a peruse through your blog, I’m going to have to look at all your entries now! Very clever title if I must say so!

      • I’ve added you to my Blogroll and I’m happy to hear that you are a happy person. There’s lots who aren’t! I will be back often, especially Thursdays to read more. I look forward to your comments, but beware there are a few pages (considering the name of my blog) you might want to avoid (smirk). Enjoy the rest of your day.

Leave a Reply

